PDA

View Full Version : found a new ebay scam...be careful

Verlon
05-09-2007, 02:33 PM
Shopping around ebay for a car, I find this one listed that is of interest. I click on the link to view the item (from ebay's site) and the item link REDIRECTS me off of ebay to a phony site (which looks like a real ebay page). Fortunately I figured out what was going on before I sent anything, but its just something else fun to watch out for.

If you were quick enough, you'd see the original ebay link before it reloaded the spoof page. And yes, its already been reported and so on and so forth, but I bet these clowns try again.

Goldfinger
05-09-2007, 02:47 PM
Thanks for the warning verlon.....I'm looking for a car at the moment...maybe i'll stay away from ebay!

Matt
05-09-2007, 03:37 PM
I don't trust eBay one bit, would never buy anything from there.

hrgiger
05-09-2007, 03:52 PM
I've been on Ebay for several years now and haven't had much of a problem except when I was a complete noob to it. Almost bought my first copy of Lightwave from someone else before I realized they were scamming me. Fortunately I realized what was going on and got PayPal to freeze the guys funds while it was sorted out. I got my money back but it was a lesson well learned.
I still ended up getting my Lightwave 6 for a bargain at $1500 on Ebay(that was when Lightwave retailed for $2495). This time it was legit though.

But most of the time Ebay is pretty safe. You just have to know what to watch out for sometimes.

T-Light
05-09-2007, 04:12 PM
If you're looking for a car in the UK try autotrader.co.uk. Free membership to get the advanced searches and it's well worth a look :thumbsup: . If your in the US, autotrader.com isn't such a great place, allways seems to be commercial ads for garages when I've looked :(

Verlon
05-09-2007, 04:16 PM