PDA

View Full Version : So very, very old...

shrox
05-07-2007, 07:48 PM
Anybody remember rubylith and stat cameras? And using hot wax to stick things to the bristol board?

Silkrooster
05-07-2007, 09:30 PM
I have read about them, but never had the opportunity to work with them. When I was first learning, I would use the sticky characters and a knife to do my pasteups. Then place that onto a copying machine. Like most everything I have done it was all self taught.
Silk

2BitSculptor
05-07-2007, 10:48 PM
Anybody remember rubylith and stat cameras? And using hot wax to stick things to the bristol board?

Yes...

and rubber cement, scribecote (and direct negative engraving)

Chuck

DogBoy
05-08-2007, 01:57 AM
Ooh, hotwax. I remember going for my first Brazilia..... Oh! THAT hot wax! Yup, remember it well. A bit finicky but kinda fun.
Except when you had to reset your text, which meant sending it to the copy-setter as we didn't have enough machines.

Darth Mole
05-08-2007, 02:01 AM
Yep: used to make magazines with paste-up. We were state of the art - used to type on an Amstrad PCW and then add embedded typesetting commands with an Apricot computer. Don't see many of those around any more...

BazC
05-08-2007, 02:24 AM
I'm afraid so, and cow gum, spraymount and Letraset! Computers must have transformed graphics more than almost any other industry! I trained in Graphic design but became an illustrator. I worked for about 10 years in watercolour, acrylic and gouache. Now I hardly touch them, it's all done in Photoshop and 3d apps, then emailed to the client. How times change!

No more clogged or spitting airbrushes - that's something I DON'T miss lol!

DogBoy
05-08-2007, 03:33 AM
G0d yeah! I'm kinda glad to have given up airbrushing. It was more pain than it was worth. All the maintenance, and faff.