PDA

View Full Version : Question for FPrime 2 users



Mr Maze
05-04-2007, 08:27 AM
How is FPrime 2 shaping up for those of you using LW9.2? Any crashes, problems, etc.?

Tiger
05-04-2007, 09:07 AM
No problems or crashes here. I just love F-Prime :)

hrgiger
05-04-2007, 09:18 AM
Fprime 3's even better now with Node support.

Mr Maze
05-04-2007, 03:00 PM
hrgiger: are you on Mac or PC?

hrgiger
05-04-2007, 04:45 PM
PC. Why?

IMI
05-04-2007, 05:39 PM
I've been using FPrime 2 for a while with LW 8, 8.5, 9.0 and 9.2, briefly.
I say, 'briefly", because we just upgraded to Fprime 3, and it was definitely one of those "Oh Wow!" moments, to see it updating the node editor changes in real time like that. ;)
Fast, too; in all respects, it puts Viper and GLSL to shame with a quickness.
But in any event, aside from the node stuff, FPrime 2 works just as well and just as stable in LW 9.2 as it did in LW 8.5, in my experience.

Mr Maze
05-04-2007, 09:44 PM
I ask what platform because one of my friends is using it with 9.2 and it crashes on him:

"It seems that anytime I have an image map in a texture with the fprime window open any adjustment I make to the map, such as position or rotation causes layout to crash."

Worley told him,
"Sorry, the bad news is that it's a known LW problem that we can work around on the PC but not on the Mac. The only workaround available on the Mac is to use the FPrime Pause generic to pause FPrime before making changes. There's some more info on the FPrime support page
http://www.worley.com/E/fprime_support.html

The good news is that we're giving everyone who bought FPrime after January 1,2007 a free upgrade to FPrime 3....although this is unlikely to prevent the crashes, unfortunately."