PDA

View Full Version : Do you consider yourself an artist?

Pages : [1] 2

starbase1
04-30-2007, 11:32 AM
Poll! Do you consider yourself an artist?

Lightwolf
04-30-2007, 11:37 AM
No way, not even close.
Then again, I only consider a hand full of people that I know as being artists, I'm picky though ;)

Cheers,
Mike

TSpyrison
04-30-2007, 11:40 AM
How about "Artist Wannabe"

I don't consider myself skilled enough to call myself an artist

Ztreem
04-30-2007, 11:49 AM
I'm a designer, where the heck is the designer option? :D

Tzan
04-30-2007, 11:50 AM
Yes
An apple for the poster:
http://home.comcast.net/~davidaburke/images/Apple.jpg

omeone
04-30-2007, 11:50 AM
All artists are quite useless
hmmm... I must be getting closer than I thought then ;)

colkai
04-30-2007, 12:38 PM
Me no artist, me just do stuff. :)

Elmar Moelzer
04-30-2007, 01:00 PM
nope, I am a craftsman that is skilled at reproducing existing and non existing items in 2d and 3d graphics software.
I am lacking the inspiration and the unresistable force to bring my ideas into a medium (paper, film, video, linnen canvas, clay) that a real artist has.
So I end up using my skills for doing viz and motion graphics and every now and then, when I feel really, really inspired I change the intensities of the lighting- setup that I have been using for the past 50 projects or so ;)
CU
Elmar

starbase1
04-30-2007, 01:20 PM
For the record, I answered 'sometimes'...

Most of what I do I am happier to call graphics, certainly if you look at it by numbers, a lot of it does not take much effort. Which is not to says it's not pretty, or heavily used for CD covers...

But there are maybe three or four images a year I produce that I really am proud of, that are in some way emotional for me, and them i am happy to count. (They are mainly of astronomical subjects. They are also VERY hard work! I tend to apply 'its too easy to be art' to myself as well as others!)

Nick

Wonderpup
04-30-2007, 01:40 PM