PDA

View Full Version : Compositing Software

ednachman
04-21-2007, 07:58 AM
I just bought "Digital Compositing for Film and Video" Second Edition by Steve Wright. I have been through the forums and found a discussion on Compositing Software and found it helpful. My problem is cost. I am a hobbyist just learning and was wondering if there is an inexpensive software program available?

FredyN
04-21-2007, 12:28 PM
try http://www.jahshaka.org/

jeremyhardin
04-22-2007, 11:18 AM
Or blender. Also free.

evolross
04-23-2007, 02:06 PM
Although I don't know from personal experience, I've heard that Adobe After Effects has good compositing capabilities.

However, the new version (After Effects CS3) is listing at $999 on Adobe's website. :grumpy: I'm sure you can find CS or CS2 versions at a fraction of the cost. Especially off EBay.

djlithium
04-23-2007, 07:40 PM
Depending on the tools you need I would recommend looking at DFX+ Or Fusion5 DFX+.
If you don't need everything in a box (no, not the saturday night live skit) to do everything possible the base price of DFX+ I think starts around 1299.00. That's not bad.
Check out www.eyeonline.com and or call their Toronto office and ask to Speak to Daryl Shayl. I think the full price of the package is stupidly priced (come on 5K? Get real) but for what it does and how well it works (when it works, not saying there are not problems with it), it does pay for itself. Still its silly to price something like that on the edge of the market. It would be better to get as many users as possible on board and then own the market instead because of easy entry for costs of ownership.

Actually call daryl and tell him his pricing structure sucks.

BTW, blender is garbage. I can't recommend that to anyone.

jeremyhardin
04-23-2007, 11:44 PM
BTW, blender is garbage. I can't recommend that to anyone.

Interesting. I certainly wouldn't recommend it to use in production (as it's an open source project and I've never used it's compositor).