PDA

View Full Version : geometry/boolean? problem

towfish
04-18-2007, 08:13 PM
I've attached a pic of what I'm trying to do. It seems like a boolean subtract is the correct process. But the results are ugly. Basically it's a rod being subtracted from a smooth tapered nosecone to simulate a counterbore for screws. From what I'm hearing, a boolean isn't the best choice here. Any insight would be great.......I'm a rookie.

is cineartist out there?

thanx

RudySchneider
04-18-2007, 09:47 PM
The primary problem is that you're trying to do a boolean operation on a subpatched object, which is essentially a no-no, and will definitely give you weird results. Since you're smooth tapered object is symetrical, you may want to consider increasing the poly count of your smooth object, rather than subpatching. Then, the boolean operation is more likely to give you the results you're after.

Alternately, and likely more troublesome:
1. un-subpatch and original smoothed object (TAB)
2. quarter it
2. doing your boolean operation on the non-subpatched object
3. add edge reinforcement around the hole (this may be tough), but yo
4. mirror the object to reproduce all four segments
5. merge points so that you end up with one mesh, and
6. subpatch the final result.

The key to mixing hard and smooth edges with a subpatched object is ensuring that you've got sufficient edge reinforcement, so that you end up with "hard" edges around the hole(s).

Good luck...

Surrealist.
04-19-2007, 02:25 AM
OK first just a quick explanation about boolean and subD with a very simple example.

You can't just boolean and then subD. First you would certainly want to merge points. But in this simple explanation there is another factor.

Picture 1

Simple boolean operation will be just a tunnel into the plane

Picture 2

The result. However, if you notice Add Edges tool will fail. This is because the polygon is half split.

Picture 3