PDA

View Full Version : Motion Mixer and Morphs



manproof
04-17-2007, 07:50 AM
Could one of you kind citizens testing LW 9.2 beta check out Morphs and Motion Mixer for me?

I think that there is a bug in 9.0 that prevents morph data from being recorded into a Motion Mixer Actor. We use this quite a bit and hope that it is corrected in 9.2.

Thanks,

-Adam

manproof
04-26-2007, 01:48 PM
I read the release for 9.2, and everything looks pretty great (shaders and rendering especially.) However, there is still no word on whether or not this bug has been squashed.

Can anyone confirm whether or not Motion Mixer and Morphs work together in 9.2? Try creating an actor, create a new motion using a morph, and then try to edit that motion. The morph data seems to disappear.

Any help is appreciated.

pooby
04-26-2007, 03:11 PM
you can get around it quite easily by using channel follower, and animating nulls that control the morph slider.

manproof
04-26-2007, 03:46 PM
I just gave that a shot and it destroyed my morph data again. Perhaps I am doing something wrong; are you sure that this works in 9.0/9.2?

manproof
04-26-2007, 03:58 PM
...It looks like the morph disappears from the actor map as soon as the motion is recorded. If I look at the map (Actor Menu->Edit Actor Map) before I create the motion, the morph group is listed; afterwards it is gone. If I then ScanXChannels, the morph is reacquired. Channel Follower disappears from my morph after creating the motion as well.

pooby
04-27-2007, 01:30 AM
You don't have the morphs as part of the actor.. just the nulls that control the morph channels

Dodgy
04-27-2007, 03:20 AM
It does still seem to be broken. I reported a similar bug to do with MM_Channel Driver, when it didn't seem to apply it properly, but that doesn't seem to have fixed the problem.

Dodgy
04-27-2007, 03:58 AM
https://secure.newtek.com/FogBugz/default.asp?4975_FWOJSOTB

Fog bugz report.

pooby
04-27-2007, 07:10 AM
ignore what I said.. thats broken too

manproof
04-27-2007, 08:03 AM
Pooby & Dodgy:

Thanks to both of you for looking in to this. I hope this gets resolved, as this is a very important part of our workflow, and will affect whether or not we use 9.x.

Take care.

Zach
05-23-2007, 05:57 PM
We finally figured out a work around, but it requires both 8.x and 9.

What you do is apply the morphs to the motions in 8.5, save, then open the scene in 9 and it will read them correctly. 9 and up does not save morphs in motion mixer.

I'm wondering if you're downstairs from us manproof?

edit: I know this is a stupid workaround

manproof
05-29-2007, 09:30 AM
Sadly, that has been my "work around" as well.

Unless you have a sub-basement that extends to Minnesota, I don't think I work downstairs from you.

Thanks for the response, Zach.

Zach
05-30-2007, 12:15 AM
ha, no, our downstairs is the ground floor of the northern nevada desert. :)