PDA

View Full Version : Kray and Fprime

04-14-2007, 01:57 PM
I am new to lightwave and please forgive me if I ask some stupid questions.

After searching tons of posts in this forum to compare karay and Fprime, I came to one simple conclusion about these two renderers.

By using Fprime, you will benefit from its previewing ability/workflow but the final rendered quality is not as good as kray's.

By using Kray, you will enjoy faster and better rendering speed/quality but you cannot see/preview rendered image interactively.

Am I right ? Thank you for helping me out.. :help:

Intuition
04-14-2007, 02:41 PM
I'd say that you have the general idea right but F-Prime can also be a final render solution, especially since its motion blur is rather nice and its GI is very very fast as well.

Kray on the other hand can be very useful for arch/viz in that it has a cached GI solution.

Kray is probably the best engine to use if you want to light using lumigons (luminous polygons). Has the best gamma range for lighting this way and allows you to either ray trace or photon map the scene. Alot fo options in the kray toolset.

I really like Kray but I'd say F-Prime is useful 90% of the time. I often wonder if there is a day in any production when I didn't fire it up.

Kray does not have a network rendering solution yet so its hard to use in a production pipeline. They will eventually have a net solution though. FPrime only very recently gained a net-render solution but I have not attempted to use it nor have a heard of anyone rendering it on a network either.

Eventually thereporting of Fp3 net use will come out of the wood works though and we will all be taking notes.

Captain Obvious
04-14-2007, 03:14 PM
If you have to choose, choose FPrime.

Exception
04-14-2007, 03:33 PM
Fprime does not render in lesser quality than Kray, but it is a lot slower. Fprime does almost everything Lw does. Fprime does previewing.