PDA

View Full Version : How To Fix These Artifacts

MysteryMonkey
04-14-2007, 10:47 AM
Using LW 9 (MacBook Pro, 2 GHz Intel Core Duo with 1 GB SDRAM)

I've been working with LightWave for a few months now. I have finally got a head model that I think is starting to look good, but I cannot seem to find a way to get rid of these marks that show up when I render it out. They appear to be segments of the cage guides (I don't know if that is the proper term for that or not). I've tried all kinds of things in modeler to see if I could get rid of them. I've tinkered for a couple of hours but I'm just not getting it. I've tripled the geometry. Tried moving the polys around a bit to new locations, and on an on. Any ideas out there as to what I can do to fix this?

Surrealist.
04-14-2007, 11:12 AM
In modeler, in the polygon selection mode, it w, for the polygon statistics window. Look for any "2 vertices" polygons and select the + to select them and hit delete.

What this does is find any 2 point polyons.

These are often referred to as polylines or 2 point polychains when connected.

They are useful for many things such as bolts of lightening which is why they render.

They can happen in a mesh for many reasons suchas welding points or using extender plus and not using undo twice to go back to before the new points were generated. Using boolean without merging points will do it sometimes too.

MysteryMonkey
04-14-2007, 11:50 AM
In modeler, in the polygon selection mode, it w, for the polygon statistics window. Look for any "2 vertices" polygons and select the + to select them and hit delete . . .

THAT DID IT! I had been using the "e" tool so that explains how the 2 vertices polys were created.

Just general info for others that may read this, the "Delete Key" didn't work for me. I Had to use "Command X" on my MacBook Pro.

Thanks for the help! :thumbsup:

Surrealist.
04-14-2007, 11:55 AM