PDA

View Full Version : simple problem

Andrewstopheles
04-12-2007, 11:24 AM
I am a newbie... bought the software a few months ago.
Attached is two jpegs showing that I am trying to make a simple object. I cannot get rid of the offending edge without destroying the polygon, I have been at this object for way too long. I have tried boolean, speedboolean and drill and solid drill (after extruding) and am actually getting a weird memory leak with those multipliers. I just want to make a 2d polygon with a hole in it then extrude it - everything I've tried gives me these extra lines that seem to be required for the polygon to function, the problem is that they render and ruin my output.
I know it has to be a simple fix - anybody please help?
Thank you.

*Pete*
04-12-2007, 01:07 PM
the edge you have, is normal...it has to be there.

now, if i understand you correctly, you want to have an object with a hole in it, and then to extrude it?

the only way that could be problematic, is if you select the object using "edge mode" and then extrude.

dont do it.

selecting nothing, or selecting the object in "polygon mode" and then extruding should work fine.

in LW, nothing selected means for LW modeller that everything is selected.

you will still be able to see the line if you are looking at the perspective viewport in wireframe mode, try changing to smooth mode (or any other mode that doesnt show the wireframe).

it should look nice and solid now....thats how it will look like in a render also.

Andrewstopheles
04-12-2007, 01:29 PM
Thank you Pete for your response.
I was aware of the way to extrude the object and of the selection modes and the default of everything being selected, although none of those are obvious to a noob like me. My issue was with the extra line showing up in my render output.