PDA

View Full Version : How to make bones from one layer effect other layers?



sammael
04-10-2007, 03:08 AM
How do I make the bones in layer 1 effect the object layer 2 as well?
I put off the dreaded rigging process for so long that I have forgotten the basics (again!) :(

moc
04-10-2007, 03:37 AM
At Layer 2 's bone option(slected layer 2 and pass shift+b,then "p")
use the "use bone from object"function(upper right corner).
Then select Layer 1 's bone hierarchy..
you 'll get it.....

sammael
04-10-2007, 03:40 AM
cheers moc, I knew it was there somewhere :)

Wonderpup
04-10-2007, 08:14 AM
This is the method I stumbled across by madly trying different combinations for a while- the manual is less than helpful on this subject.

1) Select your geometry layer in layout- but do not open either the motion options or properties panel for the geometry.

2) Instead- hit the 'bones' mode button- the one normally used to select bones.Your geometry will now be unselected- so at this point nothing on the screen appears selected.

3) Now, if at this point you hit the P for properties key the bone properties panel will open- but, because you have no bone selected, this panel now applies to the geometry you last had selected before you entered bone selection mode.

4) Using the 'use bones from object' dropdown, you can now assign the layer
containing the bones to the geometry.