PDA

View Full Version : jagged lines on cylinders



Jokerd007
06-22-2003, 06:00 PM
why do those cylinders look jagged? and how can i create smoother transitions between objects? is it lighting problems?

korn_kid
06-22-2003, 06:44 PM
Check your Camara properties to make sure u have antialias on,

you can select from Low to Enhanced Extreme.

Just remember the higher u set it the longer it will take to render.

xhttp://www.3dlinks.com/images/forums/usergallery/lw2.JPG

Jokerd007
06-22-2003, 06:59 PM
here is it with enhanced extreme AA
didnt help too much

John Fornasar
06-22-2003, 07:38 PM
Post a close-up of that strut, and also send a close-up of a wireframe of that strut, it'll be easier to see what is wrong.

Jokerd007
06-22-2003, 07:51 PM
here you go

John Fornasar
06-22-2003, 08:45 PM
Joker,

I'd just rebuild the cylinders, looks like the points moved when they were rotated.

In poly mode, do the statistics show any non-planers?

Jokerd007
06-22-2003, 08:50 PM
i dont see non planers listed in the stats window

toby
06-22-2003, 08:51 PM
looks like that jagged edge is really there, in the geometry
just make the cylinders over again

Jokerd007
06-22-2003, 09:05 PM
fixed the cylinders, now, how do i make smoother transitions between the objects?

John Fornasar
06-22-2003, 09:21 PM
Hit "w" to get the Statistics window up, then click on the "Polygons" button at the bottom of the screen. You should at least see Non-planer = 0 if you don't have any.

Can I assume you created the struts with an extruded disk, then cut the ends?
If so, something moved some points somewhere in the process.
You can also get the effect that you're showing by having some co-planar polygons, two polys in the same place.

Right now, it would probably be easier for you to recreate the struts, but in case you want to work through it, I'd first look for the non-planers,
Then in Points mode I'd start selecting points one at a time, keeping my eye on the "Set" box in the lower left corner (above the Points mode selector). When you get two points where you thought there should be one, weld them (Control-w) and do that for each Point in the poly.
Give it a shot and see what happens.

Jokerd007
06-22-2003, 09:26 PM
when i hit "w", it doesnt list nonplanar ploygons on there anywhere

John Fornasar
06-22-2003, 09:34 PM
Probably because you are in Points mode.

When you hit "w", the Statistics window opens up in the mode that you are currently working in.
Look at the bottom left hand corner of the screenshot that you posted, you'll see Points highlighted. Click the Polygons button next to it, then look at the Statistics window. You'll now see Polygon related information.

Jokerd007
06-22-2003, 09:36 PM
ahhhh, i was in poly mode, i just had to scroll down, there are none

John Fornasar
06-22-2003, 09:39 PM
Ok, next step is to get into Points mode, and start selecting points, all the time keeping an eye on the "Set" counter in the bottom left corner.

Jokerd007
06-22-2003, 09:47 PM
i just remade the cylinders and they turned out fine. i posted a pic earlier. now i just need smoother transitions between objects

John Fornasar
06-22-2003, 09:50 PM
Ok, definitely the easier way to go, but it's good to know how to correct problems when you have a complex model. Good luck.

Jokerd007
06-22-2003, 09:52 PM
thanks for the help