PDA

View Full Version : Shall i buy???? HELP

core
06-22-2003, 12:46 PM
I need some serious help. I want to get into 3d, and lightwave seems like a pretty decent route to do that.
I have a mac, dual 867mhz, OS 10.2.6, radeon 9000 and 512ram (i know i shuold get more)

I've never used lightwave before, and i dont have enough money to buy a pc, but i could buy lightwave (edu version).

Now is it a good idea to buy lightwave on a mac, or hold out till i get a pc? how is the performance, the compatability with 3rd party stuff etc?

Is a pc just the way to go and i shuold get over it!?

i dont want a pc but i want to 3d!!!!

help, what shall i do?

mac/LW or pc/LW??

and please please be realistic and logical, forget all the proud mac stuff, i know they're great, but are they great for 3d work within lightwave?

NigelH
06-22-2003, 04:08 PM
It's good enough for me to feel comfortable accepting jobs, meeting deadlines and making a living. If I wasn't, I wouldn't be using it.

Whether or not you choose to wait 'til you can afford a PC is entirely up to you. There are more plug-ins available on that side, but this has never stopped me from accomplishing something that I've set out to do. The amount of stability you'll enjoy will depend a LOT on your hardware setup and OS version - this appllies to both PCs and Macs.

I'm not about to tell you what to do, but it seems to me that there's nothing stopping you from Lightwavin' right now.

drclare
06-22-2003, 05:32 PM
The other thing to remember is that when you buy lightwave, even the edu version, you get a mac cd and a windows cd, so you can run it on either. So go ahead and jump in now, and later if you feel that you have to get a pc, you can without the need to buy lightwave again.

toby
06-22-2003, 08:36 PM
LW kicks a**! And if you don't want a pc, there's no need for one. Most of us here aren't thinking of switching.
But you should know that along with OSX.2.5 and 6 came some buggy problems for Radeon users.

Beamtracer