PDA

View Full Version : *URGENT* ive got deadline but a major proble,

Gardon
06-22-2003, 06:18 AM
Hello,
My names David,
Im in kinda alot of trouble u seen ive got a deadline to meet which is wednesday!!!! I have a animation which is a computer flythrough of a building i have designed for a very big project. So using my brain i relise 380 frames is going to take quite along time to render at 10mins a frame. So i do the responsible thing and leave it on and hope for the best. But wot does lightwave do it freezes and my computer rebooted. Ive lost bout 130 frames of work not backed up. I dont know why this happened nor why me comp (personal) takes so long. Im using low anitlaising with saslite applyed to 3 layers. I am a newbie compared to some but have been fooling around with lightwave for about a year but this is my break. I have attached a screenshot the freeze. My specs are as follows
-P4 2.4 gigz 800frontside bus
-1gig ddr memory
-80gig 7200 drive with 10 gig left

I really need ur advice and fast especially if its going to take another 50 hours to render, im running out of time and im stressing. Plz nehelp even if its something i can try would help so much
thankyou

Aegis
06-22-2003, 06:51 AM
Couldn't tell you why it's crashing but if you're using ray-traced lights try and make 'em all shadow-mapped spots instead - should speed up rendering a lot.

Reducing the backside fibres in SasLite might provide a speedup with little or no quality loss (can't remember the exact control, I'm using LightWave Express at the moment).

Reducing the Ray Recursion Limit in the "Render Options" panel will speed things up too (at the cost of accuracy).

Mattoo
06-22-2003, 07:53 AM
Here's something I noticed that'll save you crap loads of time if you're experiencing crashes. Render out to individual frames rather than as an anim.