PDA

View Full Version : cross platform renderfarm



Otterman
03-30-2007, 02:54 AM
I work on a mac 4 x2.5 Ghz G5 as my main work horse. Thing is, ive access to a number of pcs also which are just sitting around. Am I able to hook these up and use em as a render farm from my mac? Ive had a look through the documentation but cant find any mention of this pickle!

Please please say yes, I dont wanna abandon my mac for a greybox!:eek:

esper8
03-30-2007, 04:46 AM
I was reading this the other day and found the info useful, I`m pretty sure that it's author mentioned using a mac alongside PC's. Hth

http://www.extremetech.com/article2/0,1697,1815797,00.asp

3dworks
03-30-2007, 05:04 AM
bruce rayne's renderfarm commander (RFC) should work with PC slaves, too - but i never tested this.

markus

mlinde
03-30-2007, 09:24 AM
Short answer is yes, long answer is more complicated.
I have an old instruction form I made a number of years ago that may help:
http://homepage.mac.com/mlinde/tipsandtricks/xplatformscreamer.html

___mats___
03-30-2007, 12:47 PM
I have both PCs and Macs, bruce rayne's RFC works 100% for this

I recommend it

Matt -

gkbaxter
03-30-2007, 03:37 PM
My render farm currently consists of:
G5 DP 2.5 (Host)
MacBookPro DP 2.33 (running under Rosetta)
G4 DP 1.25
6-off Windows (XP) PC's
All works swimmingly, thanks to Bruce Raynes' RenderFarm Commander :thumbsup: