PDA

View Full Version : Shopping for best option

danjeff
06-20-2003, 11:27 PM
I'm new here - just joined.

I've got $10,000 and need to get enough hardware and software to produce monthly training DVD's for my church. I've been searching the web and DV MAgs for info on camera's, decks and NLE's. I would appreciate any input regarding a good solution for my needs.

I realize the context of this post. I like what I see with VT, but I'm a novice and need to know if this is the best use of my investment capital or if I should go another direction. I'm expecting some Toaster bias here, but also some realistic direction within my budget.

By the way, we've got PC saavy folks in the church that can assemble hardware - even buy wholesale if that makes a difference. We also have professional audio engineers and professional audio gear already in house. Video is a new direction for us.

Thanks for your input.

Dan

Aegis
06-21-2003, 03:06 AM
The 'Toaster certainly seems to be the ideal system for what you're doing and it's pretty straightforward to get up and running with it - a lot of the functionality is obvious and (unlike other NewTek products I could mention) the manuals are excellent.

With techie people there I guess you could put together a basic capture and editing setup for a very reasonable cost. For more inputs (and flexibility) you might want to get the SX-8 expansion as well.

For DVD encoding I'd also recommend TMPGEnc-Plus from Pegasys and ULead's DVD Workshop.

danjeff
06-21-2003, 09:12 AM
Thanks Andrew,

Are you saying that the VT doesn't include any DVD encoding? Hmmm, I guess I thought that I'd be ready to go as soon as I installed everthing that came in the box from NewTek. Maybe I need to get some more education here.