PDA

View Full Version : How to Save to AVI

kirkeric
03-22-2007, 05:43 PM
Hello,

I am new to Lightwave 9.0, just got it. Among the many questions, how do I output my scene to an avi file that I can then use in something like Vegas or Avid movie maker?

I thank you ahead.

Eric

lardbros
03-22-2007, 05:50 PM
The manual goes into far more depth about this than i could, it would be the best place to start!! :thumbsup:

Matt
03-22-2007, 05:56 PM
Bring up the render options panel (under the 'Render' tab at the top of the screen) look for a tab in that window called 'Output'.

There you should see an check box called 'Save Animation', activate that. Then open the 'Type' popup to the right of that button and select .AVI. Modify any options of the AVI (compressor type etc.) by clicking on the button called 'Options'.

Select a save filename by clicking on the button 'Animation File' and locating where you want to save the animation file.

That's it.

However, it's ALWAYS best to save individual frames rather than a whole animation, because if something happened while rendering you could lose the whole animation by corrputing the file. Whereas frames are saved as it progresses through the render, so if the worst should happen, you at least have some frames saved.

Then you import those frames into a video editing package (or even LightWave) to build an animation later.

See the video in this thread to see how:

http://www.newtek.com/forums/showthread.php?t=56301

Regards
Matt

kirkeric
03-22-2007, 06:05 PM
Thanks to you and the guy above (regarding the manual). Naturally, the manual would be best however it didnt seem to apparent under render info on that.

Now, below. Your instructions sound straightforward, my only problem is I dont see an options panel as you describe. I'm sure once I find that, I'll be good. I selected the Render Tab and there are options on the left but no Output window.

Thanks,
Eric