PDA

View Full Version : Standard rate for work?

Steamthrower
03-20-2007, 03:55 PM
Hello. I am relatively new in the 3D animation realm. My business for the past few years has been in high-profile web design/graphic design. I am just now venturing into 3D work.

I have done a few jobs for companies (animations to demonstrate products, like nanospheres flying about, hazardous waste machine, etc.) and have charged by the hour at the rate which is standard for web design ($65/hr).

Is this a normal rate for 3d animation? Or do you mainly charge by project (i.e. a flat $5000).

Thanks a lot!

Andyjaggy
03-20-2007, 04:18 PM
Check this section for a thread titled "freelance rates" you'll find your answer there.

StereoMike
03-20-2007, 05:10 PM
What was the overall cost of that 65$/hour project?

btw, I charge for projects + extra stuff (I charge everything extra).

You should really dig into the thread Andy mentioned, lots of useful information.
There's also alot to learn about fish'n chips, especially chips, but after some pages the thread switches back to freelance rates.

mike

Andyjaggy
03-20-2007, 05:13 PM
Definately a lot of good information in that thread. Up to and including the stuff on fish and chips :) I wish there were a way to save a printable version of threads.

Adrian Lopez
03-20-2007, 05:30 PM
I wish there were a way to save a printable version of threads.Thread tools -> Show printable version.

Andyjaggy
03-20-2007, 05:44 PM
Oh. Cool. Thanks.

Steamthrower
03-20-2007, 06:15 PM
Thanks a lot, I should have looked further before posting.

By the way, the overall cost of the nanosphere project (a 6-second animation which included an electric pulse at the end) cost $300. Is that way under-priced or too much? On an animation quality scale, I'd say I accomplished a 7 or 8.

Bog
03-20-2007, 06:33 PM
Put the video online, and we'll tell you.