PDA

View Full Version : Unwelding...



VTA
03-19-2007, 06:03 PM
I'm following a tutorial and it had me Unweld two sets of points, and I'm to manipulate them separately, but I can't grab them independantly. They take up the exact same space and when I select, I select all of them. Is there a way to sort of scatter them, so I can grab them independantly? I tried grabbing just their faces in Polygon mode, but it still grabs all points.

I don't understand the point of unwelding points if I can't move them independantly.

Thanks for any suggestions.
-Vincent

Surrealist.
03-19-2007, 07:02 PM
Unweld will separate the points so that they stay with their respective polys. What you can do in this case is select one poly and use the drag tool (clt t) and grab that one point. The poly selection will limit it to the one point. You can then move that point independently. You can also hide the other polys by hitting = on the keybord then \ to unhide.

VTA
03-19-2007, 07:14 PM
Oh I misunderstood the tutorial... Move the Poly and that will separate the points.

I was using the Suture website you'd mentioned in the other thread, and it answered a lot of questions.
Thanks again Richard.
-Vincent

Surrealist.
03-19-2007, 09:54 PM
Glad you got it sorted and are getting need info. :)

zardoz
03-20-2007, 04:38 AM
or you can select the poly and the use sel points (that will choose the points of that poly) and with drag you can move the point you want, or lasso unselect the points you don't want and move the one you want.

Surrealist.
03-20-2007, 09:29 AM
Yet anoher option.

Love Lightwave. :)

BTW I have all of the select options along the bottom of my modeler screen for easy pick. I have also expanded the action center modes. I removed things I never use with the mouse that come with the default set up.

Something to look into as you get going is customizing your layout.

VTA
03-21-2007, 11:36 AM
Catmull Clark?!!!
What is that?

Anyway, thanks for the tips guys, very helpful... I haven't thought about putting things into the bottom bar like that and taking out what I can either do with a key command, or don't use much.

Thanks again.
-Vincent

Surrealist.
03-21-2007, 01:20 PM
If you have 9.0 or higher CC (Catmull Clark) is a type of subdivision surface that has a different kind of math which allows you to use polygons with more than 4 sides.

These things are usually named after the guys who invented them or are in some way attributed to.:

http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Catmull-Clark_subdivision_surface

And since we are on that subject, two other comon terms used in 3D:

Bezier (curves)

http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/B%C3%A9zier_curve

and

Boolean (drill functions)

http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Boolean

bob anderson
03-21-2007, 01:21 PM
You can select the the polygon, then use Drag, and it will only drag points from the selected polygon.

Bob Anderson

VTA
03-21-2007, 08:54 PM
If you have 9.0 or higher CC (Catmull Clark) is a type of subdivision surface that has a different kind of math which allows you to use polygons with more than 4 sides.

These things are usually named after the guys who invented them or are in some way attributed to.:

http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Catmull-Clark_subdivision_surface

And since we are on that subject, two other comon terms used in 3D:

Bezier (curves)

http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/B%C3%A9zier_curve

and

Boolean (drill functions)

http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Boolean

So just by clicking that little tab to CC, 5 point poly's will render without a pinch in Layout? I've made one and hit Tab and it worked, but I haven't tried rendering anything yet...

Bezier I'm familiar with from using Illustrator alot and Booleans from the old days with Infini-D 4.5 :)

Thanks again for the help all.
-Vincent

Surrealist.
03-22-2007, 01:24 AM
So just by clicking that little tab to CC, 5 point poly's will render without a pinch in Layout? I've made one and hit Tab and it worked, but I haven't tried rendering anything yet...

With care of course, yes. I use the nice little 5 pointer all the time to turn corners. You can get away with more than 5 in the right spots.

But there seems to be a problem with displacements in CC right now. For just basic rendering it seems to look fine.

Elowan
03-22-2007, 04:05 PM
Oh I misunderstood the tutorial... Move the Poly and that will separate the points.

...

Not quite. Select the poly and then use the Drag tool over the point to move that 'corner'.

Surrealist.
03-22-2007, 06:48 PM
Not quite. Select the poly and then use the Drag tool over the point to move that 'corner'.


Unless you want to move the whole poly away from the other points, in which case that would be correct, assuming you just wanted to separate that poly from the mesh.