PDA

View Full Version : LW a good choice for learning 3D?

twkelsey
03-18-2007, 09:15 PM
I have spent the last couple of months evaluating 3D computer graphics applications, and I have finally narrowed my choices down to two: Lightwave and XSI. I am really struggling to make my final decision and I was wondering if some of the Lightwave users would be kind enough to answer a few questions.

First, a quick background…

I have been a software developer for the past 16 years, but I have always had an interest in computer graphics. I have taken several computer graphics courses at the graduate level, so I am at least familiar with the concepts of 3D. However, I have no experience using a 3D animation packages (except for a short stint with TrueSpace years ago).

My primary purpose for buying a 3D app is to render stills and animations as a hobbyist. However, I also enjoy programming game engines like Torque and C4 and I would like to select a tool that allows me to create content (models/animations) for at least one of them.

After trying all the demos I could get my hands on, I kept finding myself coming back to LW. Somehow, I just find the application easier to use and more intuitive that the others. Also, the LW community seems to be the most helpful of the bunch, and there is an abundance of learning material available for LW.