PDA

View Full Version : Taking the Plunge...

nthused
03-15-2007, 08:51 PM
Okay...as soon as Leopard is released I'll be ordering a 17" MacBook Pro. Is there any advice you guys can give a guy who's been on a PC a LONG time? I'm not a complete noob - I bought my wife a ibook about a year ago and find that I like using it more than my dell workstation.

Any help would be really appreciated. Thanks

BazC
03-16-2007, 01:34 AM
Fire your shrink, you won't need him anymore! ;)

Actually I can't think of a single bit of advice to give you. There's no secrets to getting the best out of your Mac (that I'm aware of) they just work. that's one of the reasons I love em! Oh there's odd shortcuts for things like screengrabs (Cmd-shift3 and Cmd-shift4 and I think one or two others) and opening particular folders (Cmd-shift a to open application folder and Cmd-shift u to open Utilities folder etc) but you really don't need them. They're kind of like easter eggs that you discover gradually over time that put a little smile on your face! :D

BazC
03-16-2007, 03:52 AM
Oh and copy, paste and cut are just like Windows only you use the Cmd (Apple) key instead of Ctrl so they're Cmd C, Cmd V and Cmd X. You might want to use you're Windows mouse (no need for drivers!) many people don't like the mighty mouse.

nthused
03-16-2007, 09:16 AM
Thanks, BazC. What plugins, etc do you find yourself wishing for? If all else fails I suppose I can use Boot Camp to take me into XP to run what plugins that aren't ported...but if I can help it...don't want to go there too much.

dglidden
03-16-2007, 06:49 PM
Parallels will keep you from having to dual-boot windows for all those little utilities, although not the best for rendering and squeezing the most from the CPU.