PDA

View Full Version : help understanding 9.2 features

goknights
03-15-2007, 02:59 PM
I am completely new to 3d work but am very interested in it. The new features in lightwave 9.2 are really exciting but I am having trouble understanding a couple of things.

1. The first is placing the new features, namely the DOF and shaders/materials in context with the rest of the 3d world. Are these material effects already available in other 3d applications such as cinema4d and maya but are brand new to lightwave, or are they new advancements across the board.

2. I am having trouble differentiating between materials and shaders. Assuming they are two different things, are all shaders comprised of material nodes already available in 3d programs, or are they completely separate entities that require a lot of additional math and such. For instance when somebody has a shader they made that you can download, did they just make it in the 3d program by connecting a zillion nodes or did they program it independently from the tools provided in the program.

Thanks to all who take the time to answer and I hope some of what I wrote makes sense.

Ben

lots
03-15-2007, 06:15 PM
I can answer 2, sort of.

Shaders are small programs that are designed to achieve a specific effect. Dielectrics, SSS, AO, etc. They achieve effects by "shading" (coloring) pixels using the appropriate algorithms for whatever they're designed to do.

For the longest time, in order to get shaders into your mesh's surface, you had to write the shader programs by hand using a programming language (or download the shader that someone wrote).