PDA

View Full Version : 3D workstation connected to the net?



KSTAR
03-14-2007, 10:36 AM
Im curious to here from other users on this matter. with all of the viruses, trojan horses worms, adaware, and other things that can effect your machine and CPU cycles

How many of you have your main 3D workstation connected to the internet?

If so is it limited, for instance allowing connecting with Newtek but not allowing web browsing

Full on web browsing?

Or are you internet free?

Kind of related do you run virus protection?

Bog
03-14-2007, 11:02 AM
As I don't have the luxury of having enough computers to ringfence my main box, everything's connected to the net, individually fitted with antivirus, antispyware and firewall software, with another firewall at the router.

When it's Renderin' Time, I pull the cable out of the cable modem, and shut all the AV, ASW and so on off. Also, if I have a lot of work to do, I do the same - the 'net is too darn distracting.

Captain Obvious
03-14-2007, 11:05 AM
Seriously, it's not like malware comes and breaks down your door and infects your machine. Just don't open weird attachments, browse for porn or download illegal ROMs and you'll be fine.

Also, have a hardware firewall blocking most traffic.

toby
03-14-2007, 11:18 AM
Full-on web browsing, I don't even think about it

kilvano
03-14-2007, 11:22 AM
I have a wireless router with a firewall (50 from Dixons) and all my computers are connected. AVG is a great free antivirus.

Ive NEVER had a virus or malware do any damage to my computers in 10 years of being on the net.

I run Spyware Search and destroy, CCleaner and AVG.

When im rendering i tend just to hit render. I suppose i could get a wee bit extra is i turned off those progs but im not that bothered. Havent been on too much of a deadline yet.

Bog
03-14-2007, 11:24 AM
Seriously, it's not like malware comes and breaks down your door and infects your machine. Just don't open weird attachments, browse for porn or download illegal ROMs and you'll be fine.


Mmmf. It's as much for when, EG, people pop over to visit. Booze + consoles, then I decide to crash early (carrying a huge sleep deficeit as ever), and mateyboy stays up for a couple of hours drunkenly surfing the 'net.

Having a bit of a software safety net is easier than having arguments with visitors.

And if I owned the original Commodore 64 game, it's not "illegal", it's just more convenient ;)

mattclary
03-14-2007, 11:29 AM
Seriously, it's not like malware comes and breaks down your door and infects your machine. Just don't open weird attachments, browse for porn or download illegal ROMs and you'll be fine.

Also, have a hardware firewall blocking most traffic.

I couldn't have said it better.

Captain Obvious
03-14-2007, 11:30 AM
And if I owned the original Commodore 64 game, it's not "illegal", it's just more convenient ;)
Yeah, but those shady ROM sites still contain more bad stuff than the 50p hookers in Hackney.

amigo
03-14-2007, 12:33 PM
Ideally you could all switch to OS X and never really worry about trojans or virii (for now) :)

cresshead
03-14-2007, 12:39 PM
i hooked up my mac mini [g4] to the net yesterday and will probably have that as my net connection when rendering heavy scenes on my acer laptop...once the next mac's arrive i'll use my acer and the new mac for 3d and the macmini exclusivly for the internet as a mac mini is fine for nr all tasks net related..esp if you use firefox rather than safari as your default browser.

mattclary
03-14-2007, 01:38 PM
Linux is also great for secure surfing of questionable sites. If you go to VMWare.com you can download a free browsing utility that is basically a VM of Ubuntu.

Extent
03-14-2007, 03:26 PM
All of my machines are online behind a firewall, No AV, no anti-spyware. My main workstation is DMZ'd and left on 24/7. Broadband connected for probably 8 or 9 years, no problems ever. Obviously YMMV.

Bog
03-14-2007, 03:47 PM
Yeah, but those shady ROM sites still contain more bad stuff than the 50p hookers in Hackney.

Ayup. Hence using Firefox to browse 'em, despite it's blimmin' ugly text rendering. Oh, and I make a point of laughing at how much Mac owners paid for such a slow computer at least twice a week to keep the Gods of the Internet appeased.

bobakabob
03-14-2007, 05:07 PM
Fool that I am, I use Norton (despite talk of it being incompatible with Lightwave, no problems here). Although it seems to take over your computer with hideous yellow icons popping up everywhere it's kept all the nasties at bay so far, touchwood.

Bog
03-14-2007, 05:19 PM
Kill It! Kill It! Kill It!!!!!!

colkai
03-15-2007, 02:46 AM
As I don't have the luxury of having enough computers to ringfence my main box, everything's connected to the net

I have a similar, but different situation. ;)
I only have one slow N old PC, which does everything, Net, 3D, accounts, video, publishing, da works, so no choice. :p

That said, I have a firewall and up-to-date virus checker at all times and am VERY wary of any EMails I am not expecting and only allow access by programs wanting to update on an ad-hoc basis, not with a permanent rule.
I'd rather trash a legit EMail from someone with a weird title than risk "infection". (Which I have done on occasion - oops :D )

So far, so good, I also clear out cookies etc... with fastiduous regularity.

The only time my PC has gone belly up on me in the last 2 years has been courtesy of Windows going apesh%t on me.

colkai
03-15-2007, 02:47 AM
Seriously, it's not like malware comes and breaks down your door and infects your machine. Just don't ... browse for porn
Ok, now you're being silly, that's like saying don't drink Brandy! ;) :p

Captain Obvious
03-15-2007, 03:04 AM
Ok, now you're being silly, that's like saying don't drink Brandy! ;) :p
I've never had brandy...

StereoMike
03-15-2007, 03:22 AM
I have a 3gHz pentium 4 for internet and games (mostly BF 2142) and a quad opteron as workstation (without any connection to other computers).
I exchange files via usbstick, which is rather quick when you're used to it (and find the sockets).
I could hook up all computers together (3ghz p4, quad-opteron and an old athlon 2400+ laptop) but since I have the workstation I got everything done in time and felt no need do do a messy lwsn session.
The workstation has absolutely no AV or firewall, I wanted it as clean as possible, so I think it's better to have it isolated.


Seriously, it's not like malware comes and breaks down your door and infects your machine.
But in fact it's like that. Worms work that way, and if you haven't any protection your pc would be infected within the first minute being connected to the internet.


mike

colkai
03-15-2007, 03:39 AM
I've never had brandy...
Heathen! Heretic! :eek: :devil:

Captain Obvious
03-15-2007, 04:47 AM
But in fact it's like that. Worms work that way, and if you haven't any protection your pc would be infected within the first minute being connected to the internet.
They TRY to work that way, but with a proper hardware firewall, you won't get infected unless you actually download something yourself. The only time I've ever had a Windows machine succumb to malware was when I had an infected file I had put there myself.

StereoMike
03-15-2007, 05:15 AM
Hehehe, that's why I said "if you haven't any protection".
With xp r2 and the integrated firewall things were getting better, but before this, you were guaranteed to get an infection if you plug your brand new machine unprotected onto the net.
The internet is a hostile space these days. I read an article where they said, every pc is attacked every ... something under a minute (was around 40 seconds i think) by worms and other malware.
A hardwarefirewall is a very good thing. Tho I additionally use a software firewall to close the gaps (leakage etc).

mike

mattclary
03-15-2007, 11:00 AM
(and find the sockets).


I've had that problem with Brandy before, but never with Mindy... :beerchug:

Bog
03-15-2007, 11:06 AM
Thanks, matt, for making rather good espresso jet out of my nose....:ohmy:

arsad
03-15-2007, 11:09 AM
@bog

lol

bobakabob
03-15-2007, 11:12 AM
Kill It! Kill It! Kill It!!!!!!

Heh. Norton ironically is like the ultimate killer virus in itself. Once it takes hold it has a vice like grip. It's impossible to uninstall, pulsating yellow icons spawn uncontrollably and its tendrils seem to extend to the furthest digital reaches of my machine. But at least it seems to devour anything that dares to come in its path. Mercifully Lightwave still works...:D

Tom Wood
03-15-2007, 11:36 AM
Heh. Norton ironically is like the ultimate killer virus in itself. Once it takes hold it has a vice like grip. It's impossible to uninstall, pulsating yellow icons spawn uncontrollably and its tendrils seem to extend to the furthest digital reaches of my machine.

Norton 2003 suddenly announced that it had a fatal error and had to be reinstalled with a newer version. How strange. Unfortunately it will not completely uninstall and has left some sort of cripple hold on Word and Excel. Does anyone know how to make it completely go away and/or free up Word and Excel?

Thanks,

TW