PDA

View Full Version : Ortho Camera and Perspective Correction



Filmdesigner
03-14-2007, 03:16 AM
Does LW 9.2 feature a perspective correction lens? I am CONSTANTLY asked by my clients to "straighten" my Archivis perspectives. Most other renderers have this abililty. Why not LW?

ALso, PLEASE include an Orthographic camera option on the lights too.

How difficult can this be?

Filmdesigner
03-14-2007, 03:28 AM
Sorry All! Posted in the wrong place. Meant to go in the Features Area.

BeeVee
03-14-2007, 04:56 AM
And you can apologise again... ;) There is an orthographic camera already in there since 9.0 and you can either download James Willmott's excellent titlshift camera plug-in or use ACT to generate a 2-point perspective.

B

Filmdesigner
03-14-2007, 05:23 AM
You are right. The error is in my description, which you also picked-up on. Can you tell me where ACT is? It sounds perfect.

thanx.

jameswillmott
03-14-2007, 07:16 AM
Use my lens, it's much easier than using ACT due to the realtime preview. I haven't put in a control for zoom, just fiddle the zoom while in Perspective/Classic mode and switch to Shiftlens to correct the perspective.

Captain Obvious
03-14-2007, 07:49 AM
Just out of curiousity: Will the SDK in 9.2 allow FPrime to render the new cameras? Because if FPrime doesn't render it, I won't use it. modo has lens shifting built in, and it's remarkably useful. I'd like to see the same thing in LW, and with full FPrime support ('cuz otherwise it's useless).

jameswillmott
03-14-2007, 08:03 AM
The 9.2 SDK should allow any plugin to read the new cameras.

I've written plugins that can read the new cameras so I'm sure Steve Worley can manage it. It's all up to him.

Earl
03-14-2007, 10:43 AM
The 9.2 SDK should allow any plugin to read the new cameras.

I've written plugins that can read the new cameras so I'm sure Steve Worley can manage it. It's all up to him.
Awesome, that sounds very reassuring!

Pavlov
03-14-2007, 10:44 AM
Captain,
Kray already uses new cameras (even 3rd part developed ones) without problems, so i guess any renderer can do it.

Paolo

Captain Obvious
03-14-2007, 11:07 AM
Captain,
Kray already uses new cameras (even 3rd part developed ones) without problems, so i guess any renderer can do it.

Paolo
Pardon me, but...

WOOT! :thumbsup: :thumbsup: :thumbsup:

zardoz
03-14-2007, 11:11 AM
the new cameras can render lines/edges? or only classic camera?

wavk
03-14-2007, 01:03 PM
good question zardoz, i want my lines back in perspective cam etc.


mlon

jameswillmott
03-14-2007, 08:14 PM
Only Classic renders lines, since lines don't exist to a raytrace (Perspective etc.) camera.

thecoolmuseum
03-15-2007, 03:43 AM
Try my camera plug-ins for Perspective control & Orthographic render.
http://colm.jp/plug/

I use unReal Xtreme2 to render lines.
http://d-creation.sblo.jp/

Sorry Japanese page onlly..