PDA

View Full Version : Light beams .Volumetrics

dankayaker
03-09-2007, 06:34 AM
Hello,
I'm new to LW9 and tryin gto basically produce shafts of light coming through doors as they open. For some reason I can't get my volumetric spotlight to show up in the renders . . . am I approaching this wrong ?
thanks

dankayaker
03-09-2007, 09:31 AM
I know this is easy for you more advanced guys . . I really need help to get this effect and don't want to use AE to do it.

iconoclasty
03-09-2007, 09:54 AM
Let's start with the most obvious question. Have you checked volumetric lighting under the lights properties?

dankayaker
03-09-2007, 11:03 AM
Yup, I placed a spotlight behind the doors , aimed it towords the camera and checked volumetric on the lights property panel.

Iaian7
03-09-2007, 11:47 AM
Make sure that the volumetric distance is set... that's the first thing to do. It should be giving you some dashed lines in the Layout viewport to show where the light starts and ends. The defaults are set to start the volumetric at the light origin, and let it travel to 10m / ~33'. Depending on how far away your light is, this may not be far enough to reach inside the door.

Also check shadow options. It's been a little while since I've played with LW volumetrics, but you may need to play around with raytracing options. Some will cause shadows to be ignored, some will ignore transparency.

dankayaker
03-09-2007, 12:06 PM
I don't see any way to adjust the distance the light is thrown ?? I can widen or narrow the focus . . this makes no sense to me. The light is physically very close to the doors.

iconoclasty
03-09-2007, 12:25 PM
Under volumetric options it's listed as Height. As Iaian7 said, it defaults to 10m.
Also, it should be on by default but double check volumetric lights are on under render globals.

dankayaker
03-09-2007, 12:34 PM
I checked and volumetric lighting is on and adjustments to the height do nothing. I must be overlooking something simple.

iconoclasty