PDA

View Full Version : RenderFarm



ToiletDuck
06-19-2003, 12:04 AM
I'm curious if any of you have ever turned to a renderfarm to get something done? I am at college right now. And am just starting to learn 3d. So I have been looking around on websites for tutorials and seen that they have renderfarm places where you can send them your stuff to be rendered and they charge... say 50 cents a cpu hour. I was just wondering how often people do this. As mentioned I am at college and was thinking that if it is a common thing for people to do then maybe I should see if people around here need things rendered. Or people in other area's. I have a decent dual comp right now. However if I decided to do this I would get 2-3 more to start with.
How much comp do you really need to render any kind of lightwave animation? I have a dual 2200+MP system and would tripple that to start out with. Does that seem like enough? Would anyone here ever pay to have a company render their projects? What do people usually expect that do do this?
Thanks
Duck

riki
06-19-2003, 01:28 AM
I think I would be more inclined to go with someone like these guys with their automated online system. http://www.respower.com/

Matt
06-19-2003, 01:30 AM
I used these guys once, saved my bacon it did too!

http://www.tir.co.uk

:)

ToiletDuck
06-19-2003, 10:51 AM
The ResPower render farm is 100% Intel for stability reasons. The AMD processor, for some reason, runs faster on Maya renderings than the Intel processor. We have added an adjustment into our render calculator but you may see speeds per processor that are TWICE an Intel processor.


:)

ToiletDuck
06-19-2003, 10:53 AM
That's nice. So basically anyone can log on, give their credit card or what have you, Upload the project, let the computers there work on it, then have them send the completed project back?

Matt
06-19-2003, 10:56 AM
that's the theory! ;)

ToiletDuck
06-19-2003, 11:02 AM
Very interesting. So what kind of computer do you have at home that you found was inadiquate for rendering your project? I'd hope that a 12ghz athlon setup would be able to do some good damange and be worth people using.

Titus
06-19-2003, 11:52 AM
ToiletDuck:

When I was working at some studio here at Mexico City we had a renderfarm big enough for our projects. We knew if the maximum average render time for a frame was 20 minutes then the project could be rendered in two days, this is the time scheduled for rendering, we couldn't take more.

Now that I'm a freelancer I need all the render power I can use, I have some computers but a renderfarm and sometimes I use my receptionist's machine. You got the idea. Some day a I miscalculated the rendering time for a project and the time moved from two days to a whole week. I almost got in big problems.

Some time ago a client offered me all of their RenderMan licences (+30) he was not using because he lost his company (a very respected company BTW). I was tempted to create a renderfarm but I calculated this was a bad bussines. I don't know how other companies can make money with this.

trentonia
06-19-2003, 01:12 PM
toiletduck,
I have used http://www.respower.com and they are the greatest thing since the bendable straw. There is no that I could afford to set up a render farm of that size, and, they are cheap. The farm is fully automated. You don't have to call during business hours and tell them how many machines you want to use, or estimate the dates you will be using them, or predetermine how long the render is going to take. I've use some of the other render farms (i won't mention any names) and these are the kinds of hoops they make you jump through. http://www.respower.com is available all the time 24/7/365 while some of the other farms are only available during the week. I love http://www.respower.com and can't say enough about them. The staff is friendly and very knowledgible. They post their cell numbers so, if you have any problems, you can call at any time of the day or night. I've done animation that have taken over 1 hour per frame for 6000 frames. That could take over a year on your single machine. Even on a small 20 box "office" renderfarm, you're looking at 3 weeks. I don't know about you guys, but I can't afford to be rendering that long and tying up machines that are needed for other stuff. Anyway, that's my 2 cents worth. OK...62 cents worth.
Greg

ToiletDuck
06-19-2003, 10:02 PM
Is it possible to render something on computers that have no program on them. Like send a small command over the network, or have the computers temporarly download the proggie from you and then render so that when you do finish the program just closes?
Duck

garg
06-20-2003, 12:42 AM
For security reason you should not allow to simply run programs without control, and on the windows world it's not that easy to remote control a computer.

But you may use some tools that let you use as many computer as you want to render and this in a easy to use way, if respower is not a way to go for you.

Try this:

http://www.rayserver.com

Alain Bertrand

riki
06-20-2003, 08:48 AM
I haven't used respower yet but I'm wonderring if there would be any issues with scenes created on a Mac??

trentonia
06-22-2003, 09:32 PM
Riki,
http://www.respower.com can handle MAC files. If you do discover any issues, call and let them know, they will immediately set about getting you up and running. Or, at least that's been my experience.
greg

riki
06-23-2003, 12:16 AM
I'm hearing lots of good feedback about them, so they'll definately be my first port of call. It's good to know that we've got resources like this to fall back on.

ToiletDuck
06-23-2003, 02:34 AM
how expensive can using them get? I mean they charge 50 cents a cpu hour and their computers aren't exactly top notch anymore. Any ideas?

papou
06-23-2003, 11:00 AM
U can evaluate your price with the cost calculator on their page.
I'm using 20x2200ghz for rendering animation everyday.
When i tried to evaluate the cost with Respower, it's everytime very expensive. So if you render animation sometimes, it's maybe useful, but everyday like me, it's not interesting. It's better to buy your renderfarm.
The only way, i will use respower is if i need my animation really quickly....

trentonia
06-23-2003, 03:38 PM
Ti Kanis Papou,
It doesn't matter how old the machines are, but the total power available. Your little render farm is about 44 GHz of power, http://www.respower.com has over 550 GHz. Their farm is 12.5 times faster than yours. That's the key filos.
greg

papou
06-24-2003, 02:50 AM
yassu,
but with respower, it cost me about 1000$ everynight.
sure with my little Rdf it's 12 hours to render, but doesn't care if it make 1 hours or 12, coz i'm sleeping at this time.
edo, ohi maraka. :)
(and i made a script to strip my preview on all rendernode with F9 button, it's really fast and i don't want to work without now...:))
this year, we gonna buy more power.

ToiletDuck
06-24-2003, 01:42 PM
wow if they charge that much I need to get into business.

trentonia
06-25-2003, 09:11 AM
Sure, it costs $250.00 per hour to rent the entire farm, but if your frames are taking, for example, 10 minutes each, you can render 1500 frames or 50 seconds of animation. That's a lot of rendering for the price. Papou, you say your animation runs in 12 hours over night, that would be about 45-50 minutes on http://www.respower.com and run about $200.00. For $1000.00 you could nearly render a half hour TV show if the frames took about 3 minutes apiece. Poli kala!
Trent

papou
06-25-2003, 05:36 PM
u right, i made error,... poly ouzo.

With cost calculator for 1200 frames with my bi-2.2Ghz (intel)
>1 frame = 30 minutes with 1 thread

respower price: 990$ but only 3 hours 57 min.

I prefer to save my money and launch the render friday night for monday morning. in Fact only 30 hours with all 20 processors.

But if i see artefacts, or corupted frames, or floating points problems or i dont know...SURE, I run to Respower to get my final render in 3 hours 57 min.

"if my frame render in 3min?" my frame never render in 3 min!!
that's my problem!! (cause radiosity, hypervoxel, motion blur+fov+AA, tzatziki, field rendering, etc....arg.)