PDA

View Full Version : More memory vs. faster memory



Katherine
02-28-2007, 04:31 PM
I am putting together a system with an Asus M2N32 WS Pro motherboard and an Athlon 64 X2 processor.

The motherboard can have up to 8 GB of memory. From what I can tell the choice is between 8 gigs of 533MHz memory or 4 gigs of 800MHz memory as that the 2 GB modules only come in 533MHz.

So, which is more important to Lightwave's performance, more memory or half as much faster memory?

kilvano
02-28-2007, 05:20 PM
basically...its all depends on what your mobo can run and what it has in it at the moment.

Basically ALL your RAM runs at the speed of the slowest chip.

So if you put 3x 800mhz and 1 x 533 mhz then it will all runs at 533.

You will notice an all round improvement with your PC with faster RAM.

voriax
02-28-2007, 09:17 PM
4 gigs is probably more than enough (someone feel free to dispute this ;)), unless you're doing really intensive scenes. But memory speed probably doesn't affect LW's working speed all that much anyway, does it? Again, dispute away.

iconoclasty
03-01-2007, 10:50 AM
Just to confirm, you are at least planning on running a 64bit OS, yes?

bob anderson
03-01-2007, 01:22 PM
Just to confirm, you are at least planning on running a 64bit OS, yes?

32 bit OS won't even really support 4 GB, you MUST run 64 bit to see any more than 4. I have a 64 bit machine, and it Does make a considerable difference when loading in gigantic models, or using super hi-res image maps. One of my main LW applications requires loading in 10 or 20 200 or 200 MB images at a time, and the 64 bit handles it just fine. Understand also that not all programs you might be using right now might NOT be 64 bit complaint.

Hope this helps,

Bob Anderson

Extent
03-01-2007, 03:52 PM
The question is kind of like "whats better, bigger harddrives or faster hardrives?"

More ram will let you load bigger scenes without swapping, faster ram is well... faster. if you're not using all of your ram the extra is "wasted", faster ram is always faster

Katherine
03-02-2007, 11:38 AM
Yes, I am going to have a 64 bit machine. Thanks all for your input. The argument for loading in big models and image maps speaks to what I'll be doing.

The question is how much faster is faster? I'm guessing that I'll appreciate being able to load in big models and maps more than the speed increase.