PDA

View Full Version : Select on axis



JanC
02-25-2007, 07:05 PM
What's the best way to select all points/polys on one side or another of an axis?

Thanks!

Surrealist.
02-25-2007, 08:11 PM
There has got to be a plugin for this. Have you tried www.flay.com ?

But depending on why you need to do this, there is a great set of plugins from Terry Ford. They will delete left or right and mirror from right to left or left to right. It is a great plugin if your intent is to be working in symetry and beed to correct by deleting and remirroring your mesh. (on the X axis)Try flay for it.

Also a little side benefit is when it performs the mirror it selects all the polys on that side as well as the center points so if you mirrior and undo you have half of the object's polys selected and all the center points selected. You can create selection sets from there.

Silkrooster
02-25-2007, 08:14 PM
I usually will hold down the right mouse button to lasso select the half I want. Normally by starting and ending right at the 0 axis or slightly the other side all the points or polys will get selected. There are times when a few don't get selected but that seams to be rare.
If the number of points/polys are equal around a group of polys/points you could select the group and use the shift-] to expand the selection.
Silk

zardoz
02-26-2007, 02:54 AM
this is the plugin you need: planar selection

http://www.geocities.com/lw_flashfire/files/