PDA

View Full Version : Render for print: Any tip or tutorial?



sergiox
02-24-2007, 10:56 AM
Hello planet builders,

Im rendering a image for an outdoar and the reflections are killing me. It has 16000 x 2800 pixels. Any tutorial or tip or whatever document related to this pain?

Thanks in advance

Sergiox

Lewis
02-24-2007, 11:31 AM
Tip for what ? what is the problem with reflections ??

Welcome to the board :).

sergiox
02-24-2007, 11:37 AM
Tip for what ? what is the problem with reflections ??

Welcome to the board :).

Just see the image size. Thats the problem... :)

borkus
02-24-2007, 12:01 PM
.........

cresshead
02-24-2007, 12:17 PM
err..wierd size?

53inches b y 9 inches at 300dpi....
sounds like you need to sort out what dpi your making it at...

AO poserts can be as little as 100dpi

Lewis
02-24-2007, 12:35 PM
OK you need that size and you enter that in CAMERA settings and that's IT :). Ajust Segment memory if you need and hit F9 :). OF course you won't be able to render that high without enough RAM (1GB wouldn't be enough wihtout lot of VMEM if at all) but that's "normal" ;).

sergiox
02-24-2007, 01:11 PM
Well, Ive rendered first the image without reflections and high res mode. After that, Ive rendered a buffered reflection in low res mode. Because the material is aluminium, the reflection was blured in LW. So, Ive added it in photoshop and blured it a little more. The result was excelent: It looks as a 60 hours render.

Thanks for your attention Lewis :)

cresshead
02-24-2007, 01:18 PM
so how large in inches/cm is the print then?

sergiox
02-24-2007, 01:24 PM
The final size is,

9.5 x 5.5 inches or 24.05 x 13.92 cm 300 dpi

cresshead
02-24-2007, 01:40 PM
ahh you mis wrote your pixel size down thenc in your post...thought it looked odd!

you wrote 16000 x 2800 pixels.....ie:- 16,000 pixels wide....

sergiox
02-24-2007, 01:46 PM
16000 x 2800 ---> 72 dpi

Tzan
02-24-2007, 03:48 PM
That still doesnt make sense.

9.5 x 300 dpi = 2850 pixels
5.5 x 300 dpi = 1650 pixels

cresshead
02-24-2007, 07:22 PM
maybe he's using vista's calculator!

i've made 3d images for books for the last 3 years so know a little bit about dpi etc...


http://ec1.images-amazon.com/images/P/0713679018.02._AA240_SCLZZZZZZZ_.jpg

http://http://ec1.images-amazon.com/images/P/0713664533.02._AA240_SCLZZZZZZZ_.jpg

sergiox
02-25-2007, 08:23 AM
That still doesnt make sense.

9.5 x 300 dpi = 2850 pixels
5.5 x 300 dpi = 1650 pixels

You are right TZAN :D I was exausted...
The final image has 54.8 x 9.8 inches

Sorry.

cresshead, can you shear some knowledge about render for print?
Ive worked the last 15 year only for animation, so I dont know triks related to print jobs...

Thanks guys

ingo
02-25-2007, 10:21 AM
Well the best way to learn about this is to take a look at the final picture and talk to the guys who print that picture, they can give you some good info about size and resolution.

seahorse
02-25-2007, 03:56 PM
You can't print a quality image at 72 dpi. It should be at least 150, preferably 300 dpi screen resolution. 72 dpi is for web viewing only and will look really bad in print, especially if you enlarge it. Your image size will be reduced when you up the screen resolution to 150 or 300 dpi. It will be half or 1/3 the size you have now. The only way to get around this it to re-render the image at a higher value with your correct output size.

If it is currently 16000 x 2800 ---> 72 dpi, then it will drop to 8000 x 1400 at 150 dpi, and 4000 x 700 dpi if you increase the resolution to 300 dpi.

lilrayray77
02-25-2007, 04:11 PM
How much ram is required to render images at these sizes? I recently tried rendering a 3mil poly scene at 3300x2550 and it said I didnt have enough memory (2gb in my system). Now if I lowered the segment memory limit to about 256mb, it worked, but i was afraid I was going to experience performance loss. What do you guys have your segment memory limit set to? And will it slow the render at all. Oh, and sorry if I hijacked the thread a bit, this has been annoying me for a while.

JonnyL
02-26-2007, 08:21 AM
If your problem still exists (or even if it doesn't) I can recommend two things:
1. drop your ray recursion limit [Render Globals in LW9] from the default 16 to around 4-8
2. if you do lots of high res stuff or simply just lots of Lightwave, buy Worley's FPrime plug in. I can't do without it now. I'm rendering 6000 x 3000px files with radiosity in around 2-3 hours to quite acceptable print quality. 5-6 hours gives a perfect result.

Cheers
Jon