PDA

View Full Version : help with polygon modelling

bkamat
02-22-2007, 10:21 PM
Hi i am a beginner in lightwave and i need help for following. i would appriciate if some one could guide me.

1. if i make box then select all polygons of the box and rotate on various axis and then realise that all my rotations were wrong so i need to get the box to its original state. is there any method to do this other then the undo command or staring the box all over again???. what i mean is, is there a local coordinate system for each sub item like the polygon box that i can manipulate on.

2. how do i add two polygons like two concentric circles so that i could extrude them like a hollow pipe.

thanks

:lwicon:

Sensei
02-23-2007, 12:16 AM
1. if i make box then select all polygons of the box and rotate on various axis and then realise that all my rotations were wrong so i need to get the box to its original state. is there any method to do this other then the undo command or staring the box all over again???. what i mean is, is there a local coordinate system for each sub item like the polygon box that i can manipulate on.

There is no local coordinate system in Modeler..

2. how do i add two polygons like two concentric circles so that i could extrude them like a hollow pipe.

That's tricky.. If I need such hollow pipe like
http://www.olemiss.edu/mathed/pow/pipe.gif

I would start from sphere in just two axis to make circle, switch to edge mode, select all circle edges, press 'e' to Extender Plus, then 'h' to resize and place mouse in circle center and make it smaller.. Then delete polygon with circle N-gons, select the all remaining quad polygons and use Extrude..

ercaxus
02-23-2007, 12:25 AM
1- no. I think there was a plugin that did something similar but I don't remember. You can try searching the plugin database at www.flay.com.