PDA

View Full Version : Light Trails



v1u1ant
02-16-2007, 06:01 AM
Im trying to do light trails. ive followed the Akira Lights thread. But im still completly lost on this one. Anyone willing to guide me through?


I have a Mobile phone spinning around the axis of a ball and i want to have trails off the mobile phone whilst it spins.


Ta



Pete

v1u1ant
02-19-2007, 03:34 AM
Anyone??? Willing to help me here?

Gordonpee
03-08-2007, 03:51 PM
Here's a link I found with an example.
http://www.newtek.com/forums/showpost.php?p=17671&postcount=6
Applies LazyPoints/Inertia to geometry for a "light trail" effect"

Gordon

starbase1
03-09-2007, 05:08 AM
From what you describe, is light trails the right word?

I acheived something similar with multiple passes as foillows:

1. Render tumbling object on black background to an uncompressed image sequence.
2. Load that as a background sequence, but offset by 1 frame.
3. Rerender the sequence so there's now 2 images of the object, at slightly different times.
4. Go to 2, until you have enough layers.

It may help to use the image editor to darken or fade the previous iteration a bit...

avkills
03-09-2007, 05:20 AM
From what you describe, is light trails the right word?

I acheived something similar with multiple passes as foillows:

1. Render tumbling object on black background to an uncompressed image sequence.
2. Load that as a background sequence, but offset by 1 frame.
3. Rerender the sequence so there's now 2 images of the object, at slightly different times.
4. Go to 2, until you have enough layers.

It may help to use the image editor to darken or fade the previous iteration a bit...

AfterEffects will do that for you, if you have access to it.

-mark

Lightwolf
03-09-2007, 05:27 AM
I acheived something similar with multiple passes as foillows:

1. Render tumbling object on black background to an uncompressed image sequence.
2. Load that as a background sequence, but offset by 1 frame.
3. Rerender the sequence so there's now 2 images of the object, at slightly different times.
4. Go to 2, until you have enough layers.

Even simpler... use the sequence your are rendering to as the background sequence for the current scene, but with an offset of one frame.
Make sure you render in sequence though (no renderfarming).

Cheers,
Mike

v1u1ant
03-10-2007, 11:08 AM
Cheers dudes,

i got it sorted in the end, but thanks for your input:)