PDA

View Full Version : Displacement after Cloth?



pooby
02-11-2007, 09:07 AM
Is there any way of displacing an object that has an mdd file as in cloth?

I mean so the mdd happens first, then subdivision, then displacement..

otherwise you need to mdd the subdivided object, which is ridiculous

Celshader
02-11-2007, 09:33 AM
Is there any way of displacing an object that has an mdd file as in cloth?

I mean so the mdd happens first, then subdivision, then displacement..

otherwise you need to mdd the subdivided object, which is ridiculous

Yep. Use Dpont's MDD_Pointer/MDD_Metapointer nodes. I have links to both a quick video and Dpont's wonderful plug-ins on this page:
http://www.newtek.com/forums/showthread.php?t=59317

Surrealist.
02-11-2007, 11:48 AM
Hi there. Saw you on the new NT video. Cool. :)

Thanks for the link BTW. I downloaded the plugin.

pooby
02-11-2007, 12:44 PM
thanks celshader. I'll try that

pooby
02-24-2007, 06:01 AM
That works very well, thanks.

However, you can't seem to be able to SHIFT the playing of the mdd file.
It just cuts into the animation, rather than shifting it.
In other words, if you had a 100 frame mdd sequence, and tried to shift it so it starts on frame 10 and ends on 110 the result would be that you'd cut off the first 10 animation frames and it the mdd animation would still end on 100.

I'll send off a report to him

dpont
02-26-2007, 01:12 AM
How did you shift the mdd?
If you want a 10 frames MDD shifting,
with a framerate of 30 frames/second,
you need a value of 0.333 s in "Action Start(s)"
and that should work in MDD_Pointer displacement
plugin or node version.
But with MDD_Pointer node you could have confusion,
if you use also a "Time" input.

Could you post your settings, nodal-tree/panels screenshot?

Denis.

pooby
02-26-2007, 03:16 AM
In that scenario I would have put 10 in the Action Start field thinking that the action would start at frame 10.
That's how Cloth FX and Point oven work. I wouldn't have thought of putting 0.333
Now I know I'll make sure I do it right next time.

I can't post screenshots as I was just experimenting with it on Ceshaders advice. I have to say, It's very good.

dpont
02-26-2007, 03:47 AM
"Action Start(s)" works in second in MDD_Pointer,
in displacement plugin or node version,
exactly like native LW MD_plug to avoid mistake when
user would to copy the same parameters.

Denis.

pooby
02-26-2007, 05:51 AM
Cool, thanks.

dpont
02-26-2007, 06:39 AM
...Just to be clear with this shifting value, because
you don't want to say what is your settings with the node,
I remember that Celshader used a enveloped ease-out Scalar
as Time input, so as I said about above possible confusion,
in this case you should do the shift in the envelope,
by translating the curve (select all keyframes, press ctrl key
and drag the curve to right) and leave the "Action Start(s)"
to zero.

Denis.

Edit: and yes Celshader's displacement is very cool!

faulknermano
02-27-2007, 12:07 AM
I mean so the mdd happens first, then subdivision, then displacement..

yes, turn the MD_Plug's KeyMove param ON, object subdivision order to After Bones / Displacement / Motion and make sure that the displacement handler applies to World Coordinates (e.g. normal displacement)