PDA

View Full Version : sub patch modelling

borkus
02-10-2007, 12:14 PM
hello all. just a quick question. i was modelling a figure in sub patch mode, and i realized that when i clicked off the sub patch, the regular model was distorted almost beyond recognition. but the sub patched model had no discernable smoothing problems. is this normal, or is it a sloppy practice that will become a bad habit later on. the first screen cap is what made me think i was doing something wrong. and the other 2 are a model (one that i will be throwing away anyway. too many problems in it to fix. good practice though. will start it over. so please no c and c on it. i know it has many problems) that shows what is happening. when i started it over, it wasn't as bad, but i'm still nowhere near what the subdexample4.jpg represents. obviously being a novice, i can't hope to be that good for a while, but how picky to i have to be with the non-subpatch model? thanks in advance.

borkus
02-10-2007, 12:15 PM
some of the polys even appear to be flipped in non subpatch mode. but they aren't.

borkus
02-10-2007, 12:23 PM
i was kinda proud of this part though. having had lightwave for going on 6 months now, this is probably the farthest i've gotten. bought some tuts from simplylightwave.com and hope to be a lot better in a few months. not exactly what i had in mind for my first post of something i've done, but i guess i've been lurking around these parts for long enough and should show something for it.

Castius
02-10-2007, 01:22 PM
It's not "really" a bad thing to have your cage mesh be that distorted.

But it does give you a good indication that you may be pushing your cage to far. As you can see in the first image he has a lot more polygons to make the shape of the face they wanted. It takes time to learn when to subdivide your mesh. To much and you'll spend to much time tweaking lots of unnecessary polys. And trying to model to much detail to little polygons will give you a mooshy model.