PDA

View Full Version : Saving renders in PNG format



Ty Catt
01-30-2007, 11:38 AM
I am rendering spark formations for a client.

Why is it when I render the still and export it as a PNG to Photoshop, it almost looks half faded, with loss of opacity and color?

I need to keep the sparks as a managable / editable layer (thus using PNGs).

Should I be doing it another way? Using the alpha channel?:help:

Thanks,

Ty

3dworks
01-30-2007, 12:30 PM
I am rendering spark formations for a client.

Why is it when I render the still and export it as a PNG to Photoshop, it almost looks half faded, with loss of opacity and color?

I need to keep the sparks as a managable / editable layer (thus using PNGs).

Should I be doing it another way? Using the alpha channel?:help:

Thanks,

Ty

the native PNG support in PS is somewhat limited, unfortunately. probably the alpha channel get's blended together with the colour layers. try this free plugin, it works well up to CS3:

http://www.fnordware.com/superpng/

i'm using it successfully together with LW. Hope this helps.

markus

Ty Catt
01-30-2007, 01:38 PM
Thanks, Marcus.

I'll give it a try.

Tyler

Ty Catt
01-31-2007, 06:56 AM
Marcus,

I downloaded the plugin and installed it in PS.

Other than just opening the file in PS, is there anything else to do?

Other than saving the file as the Super PNG format, the plugin doesn't seem to help the output file from LW saved as a PNG.

Am I missing something else?:(

Thanks!

Tyler

3dworks
01-31-2007, 06:58 AM
Marcus,

I downloaded the plugin and installed it in PS.

Other than just opening the file in PS, is there anything else to do?

Other than saving the file as the Super PNG format, the plugin doesn't seem to help the output file from LW saved as a PNG.

Am I missing something else?:(

Thanks!

Tyler

did you try with the import menu? superpng should be listed here.

EDIT: do you save with LW_PNG32?

Ty Catt
01-31-2007, 07:11 AM
Marcus,

Thanks for your quick replies.

Do you mean the Import Menu in PS? Where you import with cameras and scanners?

I am saving the file as LW_PNG32 in LW, too.

I'll attach a sample render frame-if you open it in PS, alot of the image is lost!

Thanks for your help,

Tyler

3dworks
01-31-2007, 07:21 AM
Marcus,

Thanks for your quick replies.

Do you mean the Import Menu in PS? Where you import with cameras and scanners?

I am saving the file as LW_PNG32 in LW, too.

I'll attach a sample render frame-if you open it in PS, alot of the image is lost!

Thanks for your help,

Tyler

sorry, wrong wording: i meant opening using the import plugin superpng. you can select it in the 'open' dialog at the format popup.

btw. on what PS version are you working, maybe it's a problem with older versions, because i opened your PNG in photoshop CS2 on my mac ad it appeared correct. i saved out a JPG - is it what you would expect? there's also a good looking alpha channel.

Ty Catt
01-31-2007, 08:20 AM
Markus,

I am working off Windows CS2, and LW 7.5c.

I'm still unsure about your PS open dialog for importing, in the "format" area.

Sorry to be a pest.

I'll keep trying.

Thanks!

Tyler

3dworks
01-31-2007, 08:30 AM
Markus,

I am working off Windows CS2, and LW 7.5c.

I'm still unsure about your PS open dialog for importing, in the "format" area.

Sorry to be a pest.

I'll keep trying.

Thanks!

Tyler

hehe, no problem. what i mean for the open dialog is here:

http://img152.imageshack.us/img152/1400/picture2bx5.jpg (http://imageshack.us)

it also may be a platform issue, maybe PNG is not loading well for PS under windows? no idea.

hope opening with superpng does help, anyway.

markus

EDIT: maybe this helps out:

http://user.fundy.net/morris/?photoshop27.shtml

Ty Catt
01-31-2007, 09:22 AM
Markus,

Maybe it is Windows oriented.

We have a Mac upstairs in our studio, I'll try up there.

Thanks again for all your help,

Tyler