PDA

View Full Version : Hypervoxels

vhfw
01-19-2007, 10:35 AM
Hello! I'm pretty new to the hypervoxel effect and I was wondering if it is normal that it takes eight hours to do about one second of hypervoxels. If it isn't what am I doing wrong? And if it is, is there a faster way?
There is also a thing on the render window that says pass 1/5, 2/5, 3/5, 4/5, 5/5 etc. What is this?

I know I have a lot of questions and the manual doesn't help at all.

Any help with just one of these questions would be greatly appreciated.

Thanks!

ikarth
01-19-2007, 11:19 AM
It depends on how many hypervoxels you have. The more particles there are, the longer it takes. Transparency and size also affect things. 10000 particles that fill the camera will take a long time, 100 particles in the distance will be fairly quick.

"Pass" in this case means the anti-aliasing passes, in the camera settings.

vhfw
01-19-2007, 03:55 PM
thank you so much! It helps to know that there is someone out there who can help! Thanks Again.

Surrealist.
01-19-2007, 10:24 PM
8 hrs is a long time to wait to see an effect. Can you exaplain what you are trying to do? There might be an easier way to see the result faster because there are shortcuts to everything when testing before a final render.

vhfw
01-21-2007, 09:47 AM
sure, all i was really trying to do was test the hypervoxel effect. I had a planet rotating, it would contract, and explode. the planet part only took about thirty minutes, but the explosian itself is what took forever. I'm hoping to do more with them, but if it takes that long to do it, well... Anyway that's what I'm trying to do. I did also try VIPER but i don't really know how to use it. :^)

Surrealist.
01-21-2007, 09:40 PM
Well if you are just starting out to use it, you can use only one particle and you can select sprites which render faster.

Good idea to look in the manual for this and see if you can find some tutorials to help you.