PDA

View Full Version : how can u tell if it is a CG or a real pics.

arrow1234
01-17-2007, 04:48 PM
hello everyone,
i am a newbie to 3d modelling, and yet cant tell the difference between real picture(taken by some professional cameras) and 3d CG(computer graphics)
like these 2 following pictures i found on internet:

http://i3.tinypic.com/4gzckeb.jpg

http://i13.tinypic.com/33v2069.jpg

for the 2nd one, i am pretty sure it is a CG, but i could be wrong.
so can anyone tell me if they are both CG? please~

Bog
01-17-2007, 05:04 PM
These days, the only way to tell a car from a render is what it's doing in motion. Car photos are always heavily stylised and idealised - as are car renders.

There are few ways to tell.

The second photo? I'd say real. The girl's face looks plasticky, and it could be a render of Superlative Quality, but I have insufficient data for a meaningful answer. The candels could be Subsurface Scattering pseudovolumes, the candelabra could be an HRDI-mapped fake. The hand and cloth look real, though.

It's getting tougher and tougher to tell.

EagleWing
01-17-2007, 06:07 PM
I agree Bog, the second picture is definately real i'd love to see anyone be that good at modeling, texturing and rendering that picture in 3D and i've seen pictures that looked real but not THAT real.
for me the first picture is very hard to tell given the white background.
I usually look for reflections and light reflections in the paint to tell. The shadow on the floor is a bit wierd, too blurry for me to be real but this could be from any ammount of light properties causing that in the real world. And again it could indeed be a real car but then taken into photoshop and have the shadow on the floor added later.
The second image is real to me for serveral reasons because:
A: the girls skin looks real not CG.
B: her hair and eyelashes, i've never seen a 3D render have REALLY believable hair fibers like that.