PDA

View Full Version : Beginner furniture tutorials?

rqe3bc
01-15-2007, 11:04 AM
Hello
I'm new to Lightwave (version 9) and I am looking for some beginner level tutorials for furniture (chairs, sofas, desk etc.) to help get me started with some of the tools used. I've found a few but they are either too advanced (e.g. stone benches), not very clear or not in English.

I would eventually like to make my own furniture models but I've been having problems because I guess I don't understand the workflow (which is why I'm looking for a few good tutorials).

I would also be interested in a book or publication for Lightwave that might have a few furniture examples in it. I have the "Inside Lightwave 8" book but it seems to have some errors in it and since I don't know how to fix them I get stuck (I was using Lightwave 8 for the book).

Any advice is appreciate - Thanks

Surrealist.
01-15-2007, 11:35 AM
My advice would be this:

There are several ways to make furnature depending on what it is that you want. You can use various techniques.

Modeler is set up in a simple way to sort of teach you the work flow if you look at the top, there are the tabs from left to right. Create, Modify, Multiply, Construct etc.

Now of course you will jump around all the time. But this is a basic starting point for the sake of understanding. I have a separate tab that I set up with the tools I use most when creating a model so I don't have to jump around.

What I recomend is that you take the Version 9 manual and go through the modeler section. (this part of the manual is actually not all that bad) It takes you though the tools from left to right. Just go though each tool and play with it as you go. But for now just go though the Create, Modify, Multiply, Construct and Detail tabs for now. You can save the rest for later. This may take several days!