PDA

View Full Version : Reflection falloff

bert
01-12-2007, 05:36 PM
Hi all

I'm very new to Lightwave but I wondered if any one could help me. I have a surface with a logo sitting on it. I have set the reflection to 25% but the whole of the logo is reflected, whereas I wanted to have say half of the logo reflecting on the surface. I guess there is no easy way, so an explanation for a dumbo would be great.

Thanks all

Surrealist.
01-13-2007, 01:06 AM
The reflection level is for the amount of reflection rather than say how much is being reflected.

Fall offs are usually done with gradients. Though I have not used the nodes editing feature yet, I am sure there are some better ways now too.

Also there are many ways to do this. You can look in the tutorials section for videos on using the surface editor and gradients and you have some ideas.

But a quick set up to get you rolling:

Click the T button to the right of Reflection in the surface editor for the surface you want to reflect the logo. This opens the Texture Editor.

Change the layer type (top right) to Gradient.

Change the Input Peramiter to Distance to Object

Select your logo as the object from the dropdown list.

Click in the middle of the white strip to create another Key and slide it down to the bottom. Enter 0 in the Value field.

Now you can slide this key up and down with the little arrow on the left. This will set your fall off gradient. But for now leave it at the bottom. You can change the key at the top to something less than 100% - its default. Do this by clicking on it and then entering an amout in the value field. So you could go from 0 to 40% as an example.

So you shoould have a gradient of black at the bottom and white at the top.

Now one important factor is the amount in the field next to where it says "Bottom" this is the distance of the fall off. So at this distance the effect will be whatever amount this key is set to. In this case it would be zero.