PDA

View Full Version : OT - Processor question for hardware guys



Pavlov
01-11-2007, 04:09 PM
Hi,
i need new processors in my rack for LW usage.
I have some AMD4200 but i know now Intel are best bang for the buck, my reseller is giving me these options:

- CPU INTEL CORE2 DUO E6400 2,13GHz LGA775
- CPU INTEL CORE2 DUO E6300 1,86GHz LGA775

Is there a precise model which is considered "best bang for the buck" - like AMD 4600 was in last year ?
If the ones above are OK, how would you rate performance gap between theme in % ?

Thanks,
Paolo

rbartlett
01-11-2007, 05:37 PM
Well, I've followed quite a few journals covering this and the consensus I read was:

The E6600, a level up from the best of the suggested has the benefit of double the on-CPU cache. Since memory bandwidth is one of the greatest battles with content creation software - I'd save the extra few $ for one of those. There is also mileage for overclocking to 1333FSB if the motherboard can also support that and the appropriate DRAM de-clocking/de-syncro to remain stable.

In keeping with this sweet spot, availability of this specific CPU is also quite troublesome. The Intel D805 was the previous sweet spot from the Intel camp.

I'm still not convinced if Nvidia have the best motherboard chipset for the Intel CPUs, or whether Intel have in fact served us adequately.

Of course AMD won't stay down for too long. DDR2 is maturing at a fair rate of knots (throughput and latency improving at lower prices week by week almost).

TheDynamo
01-11-2007, 05:47 PM
Not too pricey, not too cheap. I've had great performance from mine. What you want to make sure is that your motherboard is upward compatible. I paid the extra bit for a 975X chipset motherboard figuring I can upgrade later as things happen.

-Dyn

Pavlov
01-12-2007, 02:21 AM
thank you all !
Paolo

kilvano
01-12-2007, 02:37 AM
depends if you wanna overclock the CPU.

If you want to leave it at stock speeds then do for the 6400, if you wanna overclock it then go for the 6300. Ive seen people get the 6300 at 2.6 - 3.0Ghz no worries.

This month CPU has a best "Back for buck" thing in it for every CPU available.

E6300 1st
E6600 2nd

Pavlov
01-12-2007, 03:13 AM
hmmm dont know.... i'm putting these on MicroATX Motherboards to put into a Rack, dont know if i'm safe in overclocking.
6600 is still quite costly, if it gives a appreciable speed gap in rendering it can be a better investment... but it should be 20% or more than a 6400.

Paolo

kilvano
01-12-2007, 03:49 AM
I would think that the extra 2mb cache and the increase in speed would mean a noticable increase in render speed. All depends on your budget in the end

Pavlov
01-12-2007, 04:52 AM
another question: i think i'll put XP 64 on this system, since i'm planning to go 64bi LW asap.
Question is, now i have LW 32 and all plugins i have are 32 bit, can i run them smoothly (i dont expect a speed increase btw) or is there ANY known issue ?

bye
Paolo

kilvano
01-12-2007, 06:01 AM
Since pretty much all new CPUs can run 64-bit these days so i dont think the cpu is the issue.

The problem comes if the plugin hasnt been compiled for 64-bit.

Its up to each plugin developer to make it 64-bit

BUT...you can still run 32-bit Lightwave on a 64-bit Windows machine so if it doesnt work with 64-bit LW you can always boot up the 32-bit ones

Pavlov
01-12-2007, 07:10 AM
ok, that's what i think i'll do.
thanks,
Paolo