PDA

View Full Version : RenderLayers in LW?



joshthewimp
01-10-2007, 04:30 AM
Hi there,

what I am looking for is a way to render the whole geometry of a scene in different layers.
I have found a solution for my surfaces to render different channels (specular, shadows, reflections etc.), but I am still not able to do the same thing for the geometry.

Sure, I can save multiple scenes where each scene contains different geometry visible / masked, but thats not very productive when you need to chance things later. :)

Any Suggestions?

Josh

Dodgy
01-10-2007, 07:10 AM
You could have a look at my layersmc plugin. It won't render the layers for you, but you can group your objects into render layers and then save out scenes with each layer visible/invisible depending on what you want...

joshthewimp
01-10-2007, 09:35 AM
Thanks for the reply Dodgy.:bowdown:
I ve checked your plugin. The Layersystem contained works fine, but I wanted to avoid rendering in multiple scenes because our compositing artist are driving me mad with changes. :)
The problem concerning LW and Renderlayers is, that if I do this multiple-scene-thing i got screwed when I need to change something (one thing changes, and I have to edit all the scenefiles).
I was wondering if there is a chance to create these "multiple-scenes" via a masterscene, so that I can only change things there and it generates the other scenes automatically.

I am using LW 9, which does not make things easier I suppose ;D

Titus
01-10-2007, 10:18 AM
Layers is a must for LW. I guess it's possible to write a plugin to parent objects and assign a global unseen by camera checkbox. I feel the urge to write something similar but don't have the time.

eben
01-10-2007, 10:30 AM
A very cheap lscript "active+". you can parent all your objects to a null. applying the script to the null, will active/desactive all the children object. may be it can help you:

http://www.animea.com/pages/plugin.html

regards,

eben

wavk
01-10-2007, 10:52 AM
i forgot the name but didnt lukasz pazera do an awesome renderlayers plug... hmm.. the name... i do know its payware...

uhm uhm...

grrr... my memory is like swizz cheese...



mlon

Ztreem
01-10-2007, 11:00 AM
wasn't it surpasses or something?

toby
01-10-2007, 11:58 AM
I was wondering if there is a chance to create these "multiple-scenes" via a masterscene, so that I can only change things there and it generates the other scenes automatically.

Jezza's Reference_Motion and Reference_Camera LScripts do that:
http://jeremy.lwidof.net/lscript/

wavk
01-11-2007, 01:40 AM
yes, ztreem, surpasses it is...

but i just read it doesnt work with lw9.

great looking functionality though...

http://sps.polas.net/sps/


mlon

joshthewimp
01-11-2007, 02:14 AM
yep, thats surpasses.But as you mentioned before, thats a nogo in LW 9 and has been discontinued. 8/

I m going to check the other plugins / scripts that are posted here.
Thanks for all the productive posts. :thumbsup: