PDA

View Full Version : Node displacement



Thomas M.
01-05-2007, 06:00 AM
O.k., using nodes to displace stuff with a displacement map a la zBrush is no problem, but what if I don't want to replace vertices in the way the normal points, but randomly in all directions?

The classical way would be fractal noise (which works in all x y and z directions) and the standard displacement. But how do I achieve the same effect with nodes? How do I tell LW to displace a point according to a texture which works in 3 dimensions?

Cheers
Thomas

dpont
01-05-2007, 06:22 AM
Enter Alpha output of procedural in Y input of MakeVector,
for classic Y elevation, because current texture displacement
works with one selected axe,
but you say that you need all three axes ?

Denis.

dpont
01-05-2007, 08:31 AM
Or with a normal scaled by the output alpha of procedural:
40429

Denis.

dpont
01-05-2007, 08:41 AM
But you said no normal point?

Denis.

Weepul
01-05-2007, 04:06 PM
I think plugging in a procedural texture's bump output to the displacement dot (through a vector scale node if you wish for more control) will give the effect you want.

moc
01-06-2007, 06:15 AM
Who can show me a workable node for using displecment map from Zbrush....?

bobakabob
01-07-2007, 12:35 PM
Check out:

http://www.zbrush.info/site/index.php/ZBrush_to_Lightwave