PDA

View Full Version : Need Advice on Ver. 9 or FPrime

fireryan
12-30-2006, 11:27 PM
I'm new to using LW and a beginner at 3d modeling. I have ver. 8.5 and can only justify spending about $400 for now on software upgrades.

Do I spend it on ver. 9 upgrade or get Fprime and use existing 8.5. I want to get both but can't do it at this time.

It seems that Fprime is almost a must with Lightwave. Is it still used in version 9 workflow or is Viper useful now in version 9?

Thanks

hrgiger
12-31-2006, 07:58 AM
I would definately go with ver 9. Right now is a good time to get on because it sounds like the beta will end soon and there are some good enhancements that you will get with version 9 that will make your workflow much easier. Also, there will probably be several more updates through the 9.x cycle.

Fprime is invaluable and if you can swing both you should. But if I had to weigh the benefits of both, I would have to go with ver 9. So much better then anything that came out of the 8.x cycle.

nthused
12-31-2006, 10:34 AM
I would upgrade to 9. Save your money for a few more months then get FPrime. 9.2 has so many nice features - it'll be the best bang for your buck by far.

UnCommonGrafx
12-31-2006, 10:44 AM
9. Fprime isn't a prerequisite, particularly if you are new to LW. Better that you learn to use the software which will lead you to what you want and need as your skills improve.
A lot more to learn in 9 than there is to learn about fprime.

Save your money to buy fprime, though, as fprime 3's imminent arrival may have the tools to perfectly match some of the newer power promised in 9.2.

fireryan
12-31-2006, 11:55 AM
I'll order the upgrade to 9. Thanks for the info.

RedBull
12-31-2006, 12:35 PM
I would order FPrime.....

I have not used 80% of LW9's features, because Nodal is totally useless in it's current form (no OGL or Realtime feedback), GI which i need on 90% of my work is way to slow. Viper is a complete joke.