PDA

View Full Version : problem in LWCad 2

photomagik
12-22-2006, 01:25 PM
:help:
I've just installed LWCAD 2 having previously used version 1.5 and I am having problems following tutorials. All tutorials I have looked at tell me to use the wall command and then convert to curves. The wall command seems to work fine but when I come to use any subsequent command such as boolean 2D or even curves to poly I get a 'no curves in selection' warning. The only way I can get them to work is by converting back to LWCur which seems to defeat the object.

I'm somewhat new to LWCAD and there may be an obvious answer but I'd appreciate any help

colkai
12-23-2006, 03:03 AM
You don't need to convert to curves. As of LWCAD2 it's curves are nurbs and not compatible with LW curves, or indeed, LWCAD1.5

photomagik
12-23-2006, 04:41 AM
yeah I've read that somewhere but in the tutorial I'm working through it tells me to convert curves to polys after I have created my wall structure using the wall command. However, it won't let me do it as it says there are no curves. Am I musunderstanding the tutorial. The wall command creates nurbs but then to extrude the walls upward it tells me I have to convert to polys. Is that right or is there a simpler way to create the walls of a house using the wall command?

Thanks for any help you can be :)

colkai
12-23-2006, 05:36 AM
ahh, sorry, convert to polys, yup, should work *IF* you haven't extruded, however, if you build the walls, then 'extrude-snap' before doing a convert to polys, it will create wall polys anyway. It can be done either way;
1) Build wall structure, convert to ploys, delete unwanted polys, extrude-snap
..or..
2) Build wall structure, extrude-snap.

The only real difference is if you want to keep the 'floor' ploys created by convert to polys. If you intend to build your own floor area, it's faster the second way.

photomagik
12-23-2006, 05:46 AM