PDA

View Full Version : Installing on Mac

al3d
12-20-2006, 02:25 PM
OK...this is my first time installing LW on a Mac. i use both platforme, and now i got a MacIntel, i wanna get it running on Mac. I installed it, drivers and all, but it's running on Discovery mode right now. i can't seem to find how to install a liscence on the mac version. on Newtek...the mac version as a liscene, but a different number for the Dongle..wich is weird realy.

So anyone can help me out with this?...i emailed newtek almost a week ago and still no replies.

Thanks

avkills
12-20-2006, 02:57 PM
Re-scan the dongle and then re-register it with the new number (Mac) and wait for license key.

Although make sure you have a Duo dongle. I have a Mac only dongle for personal use and does not work with the Windows version of LW. It should be fairly obvious if you have a Duo dongle (I think it says Duo or has two serial numbers on it).

Besides that, LW will be running using Rosetta (Emulation) for now, so you may just wait for the UB version and just keep doing stuff on your Windows box.

(don't worry, Chilton is chained to a desk working on the UB version as we speak.) I just hope they are feeding him. ;)

-mark

al3d
12-20-2006, 03:06 PM
how do i scan the dongle as you say?

al3d
12-20-2006, 03:17 PM
i can't seem to register the mac version..it sais it's already it..on a weird dongle key number

JeffrySG
12-20-2006, 05:29 PM
Hey Alain,
(it's Jeff from the SFM board)

I don't have an answer for you but are you switching your main 3d production machine to a Mac now? or is this a secondary machine? Either way I'm glad to hear that you'll be running LW on a Mac now!! Hope you get your install issues resolved quickly! I'll be curious to hear how you like running on a Mac as compared to Windows...

--Jeff

@avkills: I love your avatar! I have that exact 1978 Tomybot sitting on my computer!

al3d
12-20-2006, 06:01 PM
Hey Alain,
(it's Jeff from the SFM board)