PDA

View Full Version : ScreamerNet Challenge

coatl
12-20-2006, 05:14 AM
http://www.newtek.com/forums/images/smilies/brians/help.gif
Hello everyone,

Well, I am new at this posting stuff, but so far it got me all the way to "almost" getting this render farm up and running by just reading all your comments.

I am trying to setup ScreamerNet. I actually dance of joy because I thought it was working fine. Sad surprise wa wa wa!!!, only one of the Nodes was actually writting to disk. My Nodes are able communicate with my host machine. They are being initialized and when I load a scene onto ScreamerNet II and Screamer Render it, all my Nodes pick up their individuals frames and seem as if it all is going to work out.
For some reason, even though all my nodes go through the render process, they do not or cannot write to the shared folder the rendered images. I have been trying to figure this out for the past two days, but no luck :( . I checked:

Permissions on the shared drive (everyone has full control)
Config files and they seem to have the right extensions but am skeptical about my BAT files

Here are PrintScreens of my BAT files and render process

40059 40060 40061

Any help will be appreciated

Thanks and happy holidays!!!

Tom Wood
12-20-2006, 05:51 AM
I used Matt Gorner's tutorial to set up Screamernet. Maybe take a look at his setup and see if it helps debug.

http://www.newtek-europe.com/Stuff/LightWave/Misc/MattGorner_ScreamerNet_Tutorial.pdf

voriax
12-20-2006, 05:53 PM
A couple of people have had this problem (me included)
The reason may be that your nodes arent finding your plugins, because as we know, all image writing is done via plugins (image loaders and savers).

This is where it gets tricky, cos all the plugin directory info is listed in the config files, and if your config files are saying C:\lightwave\plugins, then the nodes are going to look on C:\lightwave\plugins, instead of J:\plugins