PDA

View Full Version : The dreaded bevel! Is it me or lightwave?

williamb
12-18-2006, 03:24 PM
Was great to get LW9 because the text tools had more control, one being bevel.

I really cant understand why, when I make text and choose a bevel in ‘text layers’ that on some corners they still cross…and I have to painfully go and shift the points or weld them…and i can never seem to get i that right!

Example: try bevelling number ‘1’ Arial Black.

Find It hard to grasp why there is no auto compensation type of calculation that can do this for you when a bevelling is done…when your typing in text it should be easy…photoshop, in a few seconds I can have bevel…and several options…why not with lw?

Or am I doing something wrong cos I’m a still a newbie to lw?

SplineGod
12-18-2006, 09:46 PM
I agree. Its a real pain when there have been 3rd party bevel tools that have been able to do it years ago (bevel ++).

prospector
12-18-2006, 11:18 PM
Which is 1 reason I keep askin for LW 5.5 text tool to be brought back or redone for LW9.

williamb
12-19-2006, 12:32 PM
But its such a time waster!...time you can’t charge for! I virtually have to make text...change and correct all the beveling, then save each character as an object...and when I want to make words I paste them into place.

Where it can take ages is when beveling a 3d object and when you select on points to weld or drag, you actually action this on points behind the points you want to weld! Obviously you have to de-select them first but its all time….

Time is money….so speed is the essence of success! (grin)

On a positive note though…my wife is away for a week which means a diet of KFC, McDonalds and anything else good for me like battered scallops and chocolate pie.

Ellery Gordon
12-24-2006, 06:50 PM