PDA

View Full Version : newbe help with image on surface

enash
12-15-2006, 03:48 AM
i'm new to 3D modeling in general as well as LW. i have successfully managed to create a cube and give each face a different color. i have been struggling for 2 days trying to put an image from a jpeg file onto a surface (just 1 face of the cube). please help.

P.S. when i search the forum using "image on surface" i get page not found error from the browser - this is very repeadable.

zardoz
12-15-2006, 03:56 AM
I don't want to sound rude but I think you should read the manual...everything there is quite well explained.

enash
12-15-2006, 08:27 AM
Your signature asks to correct your english - why not read the dictionary and style manuals?

zardoz
12-15-2006, 08:54 AM
lol...that's funny.
I just find it interesting that you spend hundreds of dollars in lightwave and instead of reading the first two or three pages of the manual to learn how to do exactly what you are asking here, you decide to come to a 3d forum and ask, having to wait for I don't know how much time to get an answer...

by the way, I find it rude to correct someone's english the way you are doing, when it isn't that person's first language...I'd love to listen to you speaking portuguese...

About 'style'...when you want to make questions to other people you should try to learn something first about it and then ask other users what you don't understand...

Nigel Baker
12-15-2006, 09:57 AM
Here you go have a look at this image.
Select the side you would like your image on.
Select it > give it a material "q" for change surface.
Give it a name.
Open up Surface editor > Select your surface name >On the colour chanel > press the "T" button for texture.

In the Image drop down menu select "Load image"
Follow the rest and play around with the different settings,
Also keep an eye on your Z direction and the way your face (polygon" is facing X,Y,Z.

Enjoy and have fun.

Regards Nigel.

MooseDog
12-15-2006, 10:26 AM