PDA

View Full Version : New to 3d and trying to decide what to use

npennington
06-17-2003, 09:28 AM
I am new to 3d and trying to decide what to use a product. I have downloaded Maya PLE and Softimage XSI EXP. Both products do not perform well on the laptop I will be using, here is the spec of the laptop

Toshiba Tecra M1

Pentium 4(M) running at 1.4 Ghz
256 Megs of RAM
60 Gig Hard drive
Trident XP4 video card - 32 Megs of RAM
15.1" Screen
Windows XP Professional

What does everyone think. I want to start developing a concept for movie that will be along the lines of an Ice Age or a Jimmy Neutron. Does Lightwave give me this capability of designing this, I know that Lightwave was used for Jimmy Neutron. Would I need to get a Character Animation product like Poser 5 to build the character. Any help would be appreciated. Thanks

beverins
06-17-2003, 01:59 PM
well, the laptop is fairly weak, I'm not surprised Maya and XSI didn't work on it. The video chip especially.

Lightwave might work better on that laptop, it seems to be far more tolerant of weaker hardware than Maya and XSI could ever be.

I know that budgets are tight - your intention to use that laptop is telling. :-) You will definately need more RAM. 512 or more.

You will need a bigger hard drive. Perhaps an external USB or firewire model.

Download the 7.5c update, it will install and you will have the Demo Copy (it defaults to demo when there is no dongle present). Use the Demo (its terribly limited - 100-400 points and no saving) but it does have all the functionality.

See if it works for you.

Overall, I would recommend chucking that laptop and getting something from Dell that can be used for 3D animation (they have a new model supposedly that has a Quadro card built in... rather expensive but definately worth it) ....

Or, save the money and get a nice desktop workstation. www.Sharbor.com has a free HP Workstation with every copy of Lightwave sold for $1595... its really pretty hard to beat that deal.