PDA

View Full Version : Stencilling onto a curved surface

Belistner
12-08-2006, 12:31 PM
Hi,
I am trying to stencil and shape onto a surface which curves (in two directions at once). This results in the stencil I have drawn being distorted and it's just not the same shape. I have tried to bend my stencil and redraw it to compensate for the distortion but it's just working.

Is there any alternative to stencilling? Or is there a way to temporarily lie the polys flat to stencil onto them or something? It's probably a simple solution but I haven't found any solutions.

Thanks
Lewis

connerh
12-08-2006, 01:23 PM
Well... you could extrude your object, then copy your base object to another layer, then boolean subtract on one layer and then boolean intersect on the other...

Belistner
12-09-2006, 09:07 AM
Thanks for the tip - unfortunately I stil can't get it to work. I'm a bit of a newbie! Boolean subtracting the base object from the extruded stencil gives the wrong shape - as it needs to sort of wrap around.

It's difficult to describe. I'm trying to put the Cockpit windows on the front of a 747 - see this image
http://www.panamair.org/aircraft/b747-100/paa747cockpit-schreiber.jpg

As they sort of wrap round I can't seem to stencil them on and have them be the right shape.

Thanks
Lewis

hrgiger
12-09-2006, 10:46 AM
I would use a solid shape boolean to cut it out. This is a quick and dirty exampe but it would be something like this. You just have to spend a little more time making a more accurate cutting shape and it will require some clean up after the cut but then booleans usally do. It will give you the shape you want and will respect the curvature of the model.

Belistner
12-09-2006, 04:38 PM
Thanks for the help.

I've managed to get the front two windows on using this technique. I'm still having trouble with the side windows as they wrap around it at a weird angle.

Just seems like there should be an easy way to do what I've no idea what!

thanks
Lewis

hrgiger