PDA

View Full Version : Help system not working



norlight
12-06-2006, 04:09 PM
Im giving up...

Ive tried to get the help system to work in order to resolve a drop shadow issue.

But Im just not able to get the help system up and running!

Yes, Ive gone through the Flash player security settings that allows the help system to communicate with the internett.

What I get is a 3D robot with an internetlink to newtek at the bottom. Otherwise theres nothing to click/watch!

I can see that the browser is continously communicating/"pinging" the internet, but other than that theres just nothing happening...

Ive tried Firefox 2.0 with identical results.

Ive tried to search these forums without getting useful search results...

Now I just need help, I refuse to believe its only me that ha sgot these problems!

norlight
12-15-2006, 09:02 AM
I fixed it , finally...:)

Just in case somebody else runs into this problem:

When solving the flash security issue one has to select which files are to be allowed to communicate to the internet.

When launching the flash help the browser looks for a specific help file.

My error in the flash security settings was to specify that specific file to have access to the internet.

One should instead select the entire folder where the help system recides!

mj418
12-30-2006, 08:39 PM
Yeah, that's how you do it.
Of course, the better questions are why Flash, why internet and security, why not .chm compiled help files, or good old regular html like photoshop does?

*not a big fan of Flash for things other than videos.